Hello, I Love You/The Planets (Jupiter)

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)

The Doors, fronted by the charismatic and untamed Jim Morrison, made some astounding music. “Hello, I Love You” isn’t the best of it, but I’ve always liked the song. In the early 90s, my band, Chimera, found the energy and simple melody of the piece to be a crowd pleaser.

At rehearsal, one evening, we were practicing “Hello,” and I was visited by a musical moment. I stepped away from the mike and stopped strumming. “Dudes” (I probably didn’t call them “dudes,” but it fits the moment), “let’s try something different.”

I have always loved Holst’s “The Planets.” Barring the first listen when my high-school friends and I couldn’t refrain from guffawing about a piece of music named “Uranus,” “The Planets” has been a long-standing favorite. My preferred planet is usually “Jupiter.” It has three of the all-time best melodies in music, regardless of genre. What had danced around me as we rehearsed “Hello” was one of them.

A decade after Chimera's bitter breakup, Jim Fraschetti—keyboard player extraordinaire—enticed me into preparing a set of music that the two of us would play together. If you read my intro to “In Your Eyes,” you will already know a bit about this, so I’ll not repeat it, here. If you haven't read the intro (and listened to the song), what are you waiting for?

The bass line that I played was destroyed in one of my hard-disk transfers, and the bass was borrowed/stolen by a musical colleague, so along with the percussion and tubular bells, the bass is also sequenced. everything else is played by Jim or me. The voice is mine.

You will see that I have decided to use the “progressive rock” label for a tune that would normally be placed firmly in the “classic rock” pigeonhole. I hope that the proggers out there (who decide to listen to the song) agree that the arrangement moves the song from classic to progressive. If you don’t, let me know why you disagree.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Hi chimerasong,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you, folks. I will have a great day and wish it right back at you.

Hi @chimerasong. Very nice to hear you on "Hello, I Love You". I don't know if it's progressive rock but the arrangement is genial. Congratulations!! You have made my morning. Happy week and cordial greetings

Que chévere, el comentario de usted! Gracias. I don't know whether it's progressive rock, either, but adding a classical element to a standard rock and roll song moves it somewhere along the continuum, I think. Thanks for the listen.

Bob.. qué chévere eres!! Keep experimenting with music because your sounds are very good

Ow, very interesting that taste of the planet, I liked reading this article, it made me smile :D

Bien agradable de usted, gracias.

Congratulations @chimerasong! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!