Poetry Slam Week 12 - Beautiful Orenda

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

I remember like it was yesterday.
We met in the dark,
she carried her smile with a spark
of gentleness and introduced herself to me.
Without any need for formalities the wind and breeze
had already brought her scent and told me her name.
So by the time she got to me we were already in sync through chemistry.
**

It's easy to think that you will know how
to react when stricken or smitten,
but then the moment hits you and your soul takes a bow
and gets lost in space without a trace of hidden
defence. For instance you are left numb and lost for words,
your hands shaking trying to mute the birds
from humming tunes of passion and the milky way.
**

All this time I stood there trying to regain my strength
but your essence is much too strong so I eventually fall on my knees
and just allow this state of trance that stretches further than length
can ever measure. Like the weather you came to me through a breeze
in the night. I cannot fight this feeling, transforming and appealing
is its appeasing effect. Forever intact is our bounding sealing of feelings.
**

I accepted you that night and we became one.
You told tales of how you survived through seasons
and tricked time to bring you back to me for reasons
I cannot comprehend, take my hand as I yield into your orenda.
You outshine the sun through your magnificent splendour.
You render me speechless, I do not need a blender
for these mixed emotions that now exist with tender.
You are the bender of time, the mender
of broken spirits. There are no limits to what we can do together.


©Vincent Mbatha - @cryptoprofessor


Image Source: Pxb


This is my poem for the Poetry Slam Contest [Week #12 ENTRY].

Thanks to @jamesgetsit and @scuzzy for hosting this contest.

For more information on how to participate in the contest click here


► Listen on DSound

 
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Im your greatest fan now, wow,
melting words caress my soul.
I read your poetry and get it, and immediately am inspired to right straight away myself.

Thanks for your kind words @sanddrift. I'm glad I've inspired you. Please do share your post with me as well once you have written something.

This is great @cryptoprofessor. I enjoyed how you personified orenda. I also liked the flow of the syllables and rhymes when the poem was spoken.

This contest is a great way to interact with poets and hear poetry on @dsound. Best of luck to you.

It's really interesting to read @cryptoprofessor how you personified Orenda. You captured the feelings of Orenda as the Iraquoi may have felt inside. I love how the words fit together in syllables and rhymes. It is really a piece works well on audio. I feel like you are walking with Orenda in this poem. I'm glad to see you participate in poetry slam and hope that you win first prize.

This is a really good opportunity for poets to engage and I wish more people participated this week. I really enjoy how people respond to the assignment.

This is great @cryptoprofessor. I enjoyed how you personified orenda. I also liked the flow of the syllables and rhymes when the poem was spoken.

This contest is a great way to interact with poets and hear poetry on @dsound. Best of luck to you.