Superior assumptions

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Superior assumptions

original excellent caliber creation


retrovintage-statues-facingaway-superior.jpg


retrovintage-statues-facingaway-superior (4).jpg

Proclamation


Since I'm a genius and everything I create is perfect, you can rest assured this piece is also flawless (sarcasm.) There is a persistent tendency within our society to assume we know an artist's intentions based on our perception of their creation. Everything we experience mirrors our inner state back to us. We project our psychological complexes onto pieces of art, and by extension, their creators. All this in spite of the fact that creation is autonomous; it is the universe expressing itself through its willing vessels.

Hopefully this recited poem, accompanied by improvised backing music, can capture the maximum pretension possible. May the "golden words" of this demigod reach thine ears! Listen at @dsound:

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Don't take me too seriously.
You might hurt yourself.


Specs


Tuning: A = 432 hz
.
Temperament: Kirnberger
(in A, C and Eb)

.
Instrumentation:
Voice, piano, flute, sound FX
(played on Yamaha Montage keyboard)
.
Created using
Garageband

retrovintage-statues-facingaway-superior (3).jpg


Superior assumptions


Where were we?
Let us resume where we left off.
I was reading out my golden words when
I heard an odd rambunctious cough.


From the back of the room
It was the proud contrarian
Who cackled at his crusty loom
Weaving trouble from the air again.


I could read his vibe a mile away,
The type that tries too hard to get a rise
Out of you with lazy quips all a-splay
To demean, denigrate: invoke your demise.


They assume skillwise you're arrogant
With your products overconfident,
Self-indulgent with narcissism spent.


They assume you think you're an expert
In the top percentile asserting mastery
And perceive the sheer act of your creation
As the rankest blasphemy.


How funny! I showed this man the door,
And bid him roam deficient, off to search
for other art to gore.


green-with-envy-greek-god.jpg


pale-red-greek-masks (1).jpggreen-with-envy-greek-god (3).jpgretrovintage-statues-facingaway-superior (1).jpg

Created by
@d-pend
1/22/18

Photos are
public domain &
edited by @d-pend.

retrovintage-statues-facingaway-superior (2).jpggreen-with-envy-greek-god (1).jpgpale-red-greek-masks (2).jpg


pale-red-greek-masks.jpg


Sort:  

I smiled throughout this, @d-pend, you sound like you're having fun with it! There's an appealing light-heartedness, here, a playful, naughty, mock-haughty spirit to taunt the proud contrarian.

By association, I think of Nietzsche's quip: "One does not kill by anger but by laughter. Come let us slay the spirit of gravity!"

Really enjoyed this little piece of theater, much enhanced by the drama of music :)

Encore!

Yeah I was definitely in a playful mood while creating it! Humor is indispensable for situations where you can point out something taboo or uncomfortable by implying it, without having to address it aggressively. It's a more peaceful way to resolve problems. Thanks for sharing the Nietzsche quote, hadn't heard it before!

Hey, good to hear back from you, Daniel :) Humor saves lives, if you ask me, and is a sign of intelligence/spiritual elegance. Here’s another Nietzsche quote for you, and one by Merton that sum up my world view, really, in a handful of words:

'Do what you do more as play than as work, which does not mean that it is not serious ... That is the real tragedy of war and weapons: the tragic false seriousness.'
—Thomas Merton, Letters

'Man's maturity: to have regained the seriousness that he had as a child at play.'
—Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil

cool post

What a Talent You are Daniel Pendergraft <3 <3

Your Voice over and the echo of the sound is damn Perfect and your words are more than awesome Specifically the Vocabulary you chose, Mind blowing.

It is very much True that Writer and Poet express before the world what they have deep inside. I don't consider myself a Poet but i have a great influence of many Writers and Poets since my Childhood ;)

This is another Big Reason why do i call you that you are an exceptional Talent @d-pend

I also worked in Radio and I know very well what your be the Quality of voice mean, with perfect echo and frequency. Yes, you are so blessed with all these along with Writing skill <3

I am so so blessed to met with you and I am looking myself at your place one day because You are not an ordinary Guy but An INSPIRATION for me <3 <3

My Support and Love is always with you My Friend

Keep writing and sharing your Audios to inspire many more here on steemit

Stay Blessed, Steem On!

He is really inspirational. God increase his good heart.

Thanks for this highly complimentary and encouraging comment my friend @salmanbukhari :-)
We continue on the course in the face of hardship, and keep a level head in the midst of success. Throughout, we hold that intention to foster unconditional love. Wholeness!

You are welcome and i do agree what you said My Friend <3

Great Audio Daniel. Never knew that your voice is soo soothing until i heard this audio :-) . You r indeed a talented artist and am proud to have met you on this great steemit platform. Regards Nainaz.
#thealliance

All Those masks on the wall (in the FINAL IMAGE) caught my attention .. I love (and the 2 Statues on the left ).

I Enjoyed your #Poetry today.
Would say my favorite part was : "How funny! I showed this man the door,
And bid him roam deficient, off to search
for other art to gore."

Have a wonderful journey !

Thanks so so much for this post. I wish the world can see this. Too much assumption in this world. They just keep assuming they know your intentions, they think they know everything about you. They think you think too much and highly about your self.
I wish they can see this and correct their own assumptions

Yo are so creative indeed. I didnt know that music can be expressed as an art.
Your inspirational is undeniable to me especiallu as a newbie. I havf tried to read through your posts, they are amazing.

Hey snekky, Absolutely brilliant Superior assumptions you shared to community. Pretty cool Dsound indeed. Its calm and just awesome. You have various style as your own. I loved it.
I have seen you entered post there its including all happening things. Video, Captures, poems, sounds etc....
Respect your service @d-pend.
Steem on and keep going with steemit.

The opposite of life is a living death, we wander through the paths of illusion as we revolve the words of transient science.
You're a genius that has surpassed the giants - Thank you @d-pend

The end of this audio was quite cool! If it went on for longer, I'm pretty sure I would've entered some sort of trance state. Even though it wasn't for long, it still felt magical :)

Since I'm a genius and everything I create is perfect, you can rest assured this piece is also flawless.

While this not quite true, it is more believable than you think. Ciao.

They assume skillwise you're arrogant
With your products overconfident,
Self-indulgent with narcissism spent.

They assume you think you're an expert
In the top percentile asserting mastery
And perceive the sheer act of your creation
As the rankest blasphemy.

But of course, their assumptions are 99% correct :D. I must laud your mastery of the language. Its like you live in the vocabulary itself.

Kudos

Such a talented article shared @d-pend.
I heard completely your dsound clip. Its more inspiration indeed.
Your voice so coolest with mind relaxation.
You wrote poem and blog feel my heart deeply. Why peoples has feel something so deeply? Maybe they more closed to us.
Especially you have and you feel like another peoples. We're out from there kids searching who's the father and who's mother.
Go ahead....Steem on....

A masterpiece. A wonderful expression of a narcissist's point of view. Truly I am captured with the art of how words are carefully chosen for this poem. I love it!.

  • There is only so much praise and critique an artist can take until he or she becomes mad. I laughed a lot when I heard this.

  • The Ancient Greeks had a way of putting things back into perspective and crushing the pride out of me but their "deities" are quite humorous.

  • I love these words, "I showed the man the door." It's really exactly what I was thinking a minute ago as I listened to "Tommy - I'm free" from "The Who"


    On another note @d-pend... keep experimenting with words and music regardless. You have a great platform here.

You're very talented with finding the right words in your work. I wish that my vocabulary flowed and stretched as much as yours. Thank you for sharing this with us.

The sarcasm was appreciated.

First of all, thank you from my heart. There is a lot to learn from you, and people learn from people.Everything inside your post was something other than interesting and learning ,funny and also more.i wait for next post.

And once more this magician touches me with the wizardry of poetry. I could read you all day. Wow. Wow and again WOW.

Ha, ha love it!

very soulful poem @d-pend

Very nice I like with your post this @d-pend, really cool. You are very lucky to be able to post in Dsound, I've posted many times in Dsound but he never saw me. I am very sad. Hopefully one day Dsound want to see me and can be lucky like. Thank you and wish you more success... :)

That second stanza is everything.

awesome post there, i almost burnt my bread listening to this

Great talent!

Wish I could see the pictures, dont know my net is kinda low

wow very nice post friend

Thank you for your posts, love the dsound part of it!

thanks. have a nice day

Beautiful written and pics are very intersting faces

Nice poetry dear dpend

Very scary masks :( Please don't post them again

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 9.54$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Huh that was fantastic, you are awesome! keep up the good work! :)

nice post

I liked your post it was interesting ... I invite you to visit my blog and give me your opinion, thank you!

Love the imagery, both written and poetic.

I really like your post @dpend, a very good poem