An Original Song about Bad Times and Good Times

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Hello again Steemit!

For those who have been following along, you know that I lost most of my income at the beginning of January, but the ol’ steem blockchain has really come through, thanks to you all, and a platform like @DSound. This past month here has been pretty exciting, and I’m really thankful for your support.

This song, “Bad Times, Good Times” is a one-sided conversation between two people in a relationship that is having some setbacks. You can hear what he’s saying in this song, and can probably just about guess what she’s saying to him. While he thinks they could be on the cusp of greatness, she’s a little more skeptical. I wish I could say that I didn’t relate to this guy, but unfortunately, I think I may have had some days like this…

Anyway, in this recording I went a little crazy with lots of layers, and background “oohs”, and foot stomping, but man it sure was fun. I tend to write lots of intense and somewhat heavy songs, so I enjoyed being a little more lighthearted this time around.

*Photo by jw100procent on Pixabay

Lyrics: (There’s nothing too profound here, but there may be some interesting colloquial language... )

I've got friends up in the city
They've got room they would take me in
But I'd rather stay here with you
So let's talk it through again

I've been thinking you've been reacting
to the bad times, the good times are just ahead of us
In my opinion you've been distracted
by the downturn, the upswing is on the way

I won't smoke up another paycheck
Good lord when will you let that go
At least it's clear where the money was spent
With you we will never know

I've been thinking you've been reacting
to the bad times, the good times are just ahead of us
In my opinion you've been distracted
by the downturn, the upswing is on the way

I don't wanna fight anymore
I just want to sit here
I just want to eat in peace
I don't wanna fight anymore
I just want to sit
I just want to eat

Don't you worry about my prospects
I said I'd finish my resume
Why can't that library be open more
For those who're working night and day

I've been thinking you've been reacting
to the bad times, the good times are just ahead of us
In my opinion you've been distracted
by the downturn, the upswing is on the way
I've been thinking you've been reacting
to the bad times, the good times are just ahead of us
In my opinion you've been distracted
by the downturn, the upswing is on the way


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Good to hear a fellow musician, recording raw!

Yes! Thank you!

Nice song structure. I like the stumping, it really gives life to the track.
The story, so close to real life, has natural words which are well chosen (your story ?).
I enjoyed that.

Man I love this, good music played by great musician/s. What are you using to record? You get a nice "living room" kind of old timey sound. Good to see Dsound helping genuine artists.

Thanks! I happen to record in the living room of an old house with plaster walls, and I'm using garage band with blue mic-a pretty simple setup.

I love it! It did have a different feel than most of your stuff, but it was a great mixup. Glad to hear Steemit is helping you further your music ventures (and other things I'm sure), I don't even know the half of the amount of work you've put into your craft, so I'm really happy to see it's financially paying off.

Thank you Weber. This has been exciting lately. I can't wait for the recording weekend in March!

Great song, I'm glad that you've been able to make enough money from steemit :)

Really like the tempo and feel of this one, doesn't always have to be profound to be deeply enjoyed.

I love it! Keep up the good work.

I will, Thank you!

Loved it! Strong lyrics and great music!
You've earned a follower.

Thanks! Enjoy your new instrument!

I definitely will thanks :p

Great music! Been following your posts lately and I must say that the talent is innate. I hope more musicians like you could be rewarded by sharing their works on steemit. Continue updating us with your quality songs. Much love from the Philippines!

Well thank you @devilbi! I visited your fine country years ago-quite beautiful.

awesome back ...............!

That's real. same here.

Wow i love your great work

bandcampbannerapp.png
Youre obviously a good musician..just wondering how this was recordeed? Look forward to hearing more from you!

Thanks. I'm using garage band with a Blue Mic.

good job Daniel!! hi i´m Daniela haha nice to meet you :D i´m musician too please see my last video https://steemit.com/music/@palmimusic/luz-de-mi-vida-pablo-olivares-cover i play the guitar

Hello Daniela! I'll check it out!

The song is very emotional. You have inspired I

Omg . I can't wait for the results

Glad to see the Steemit community supporting singersongwriters...it is tough to get noticed. Good work!

I really appreciate this! Thank you. I hope it goes well for you!

Hey Daniel, just wanted to say tosay you.. really loving the work you are doing here ... keep up the good work!!!

Thank you for the encouragement!

Felicitaciones muy buen trabajo

¡Gracias! Muy amable.

This is an awesome song. Great writing, cool music. It feels good to listen. Thank you! @danieldyemusic

I am glad you like it! Thanks for the compliment!

You're welcome!