The Reason I Wake Up — Exclusive to DSound / Song 007 (of a Million)

in #dsound6 years ago



I wrote "The Reason I Wake Up" while sitting in a little hotel room near Chapel Hill, North Carolina, while doing research for a biography I wrote of musician Doc Watson.

That day, I had found a little Gibson mandolin from the '50s, and taken it home with me, after not bringing any instruments with me on a 3-week journey (I just couldn't take not being able to play).

I worked out a few descending chords, and wrote this little love song for my then-girlfriend, now-wife.

Let me know what you think!
Song No. 7 of a Million
We are alive!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

super awesome post...keep it up!

Thanks, man!

My amateur ears would have thought you were playing an ukulele. Your educating me today on new instruments I never seen before. The song is awesome. It's an instant dedication to my wife.

Aw thanks!

I am kind of playing the mandolin like a ukulele here :)

Bro you smashing in the content!
Good job, I really like your guitar playing and voice!
Do you think i can use some of your music in one of my videos ?
Of course that i'll mention that it's your music!

Thanks my friend! Sure. Happy to have you use it / just let me know!

Cool thanks bro!
I'll tag you!

Sounds great @veganroma !

Nice little tune and nice little story behind it

Thanks man! I dig your content / I just followed :)

Enjoyable song man. Makes me miss Chapel Hill and Doc Watson and the old mandolin I lost long ago. Cheers.

Thanks @captainvapoor ! Did you live in Chapel Hill? Did you see Doc? And tell me more about the mandolin.

I lived in Raleigh and actually got to see Doc Watson, Peter Rowan, and Merle Watson - I can't remember where it was though - the mandolin was a 12 string beauty - I think I sold it in the late 1990s for drinking money....that was a stupid decision.

Wait a minute - Merle wasn't there - it was at Merlefest so he was already gone for the long sleep!

You might have seen Richard Watson with Doc / his grandson.

A 12-string mandolin? Wow!

Also, I call myself a ne'er-do-well pretty often. Great term :)

Good dsound sing song

Thanks!

soy músico venezolano por eso disfruto mucho estas publicaciones hermano felicidades

That's great, Carlos! I speak a little Italian, so I could understand a bit of this / then I used Google Translate. I'd love to listen to some of your music. Do you have it online?

Nice song

Thanks so much!

Very good vibes ! I'm loving it :D

Thanks!

i'm so afraid of playing older instruments. Feels like they will snap in my fingers. sounded great though! smooth voice and cute lyrics :)

Thanks!

I love old instruments / just like old people they have great character and stories! (And they smell interesting)

Excellent sharing!

Amazing voice keep it up you will be go to moon

Thanks!

Follow me.

This is amazing!

Thanks so much ! I really appreciate it.

Love it brother!! Very happy tune! :) Keep at it buddy!

Thanks, my friend!

super light, super great

I appreciate it! Thanks for tuning in :)