Blackbird by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Race War or War

LISTEN TO BLACKBIRD ON DSOUND

The classic song from The Beatles has up to that day several interpretations.
Is it a song about race relations in USA in the 60's?Is is about the Vietnam War?A song about love?

My introduction of this song was through Jazz,it was Bobby Mcferrin's version with no other instruments than his voice.

A few years later I knew how to play the song, I think most guitarist do.It's a song that creeps on you, and gives you so much satisfaction when finaly you can sing it and play at the same time :)

When my friend @rumbledoor requested "Blackbird" I was excited and worried all at once.
I like pushing boundaries, and getting out of my comfort zone,
My initial idea was to have an adaptation in the style of "The Sound Of Silence " cover by James Blake

I wanted to have a sinister tone to "Blackbird" with keys, no particular tempo, sweating electronic effects.

After 2 days of work, well it was a complete failure.I couldn't get the sound of electronic keyboard I was looking for.

So i decided for the second time in my life to record without a click, an accoustic version of the song, while close to original, i wanted to keep it aerial and closer to modern jazz than the classic bourree that inspired Lennon-McCartney.

Listen until the end, there is a sneak peak of the other version that never got finished.Maybe one day?

LISTEN TO BLACKBIRD ON DSOUND

Congratulation to you for winning 1SBD ,Thanks again to you @rumbledoor for requesting this song!

I hope I did it some honor, it's one of my favorite song too, as it shows the quality required as a composer to make a masterpiece , to write something simple yet efficient, politically engaged and romantic.

I hope you enjoy as well

@edprivat

#cover #blackbird #jazz #improvisation #edprivat #songrequest

Don't forget to ask me for as song request, i always accept a challenge and YOU get rewarded 1SBD if you're chosen. It needs to be a song that has a meaning to you, and that is a bit popular to make it easier for me :)
Hopefully soon I can make you win more SBD as @edprivat channel grows!


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

wow..dear. so nice song...i love it. .i like this type song...thanks.for sharing..

Hey There @afrinsultana thank you so much I love this song too :) it's a pleasure. Don't forget you can participate to the song request and have a chance to win 1SBD if your song is picked.It needs to be something a bit famous

i dont.understand.what you want to.say?m

আমি প্রতি সপ্তাহে 1 এসবিডি জেতার সবার জন্য প্রস্তাব করছি, আপনার পছন্দ মতো একটি গান চয়ন করতে হবে, এটি জনপ্রিয় হতে হবে, মূলধারার সঙ্গীত থেকে একটি জনপ্রিয় গান। এবং আমি আপনার জন্য গিটার এবং ভয়েস পুনরায় চালু করব এবং আপনি 1 এসবিডি জয় করবেন গানটি Dsound এ মুক্তি পায়। এটা কি বাংলায় ভালো?
Āmi prati saptāhē 1 ēsabiḍi jētāra sabāra jan'ya prastāba karachi, āpanāra pachanda matō ēkaṭi gāna caẏana karatē habē, ēṭi janapriẏa hatē habē, mūladhārāra saṅgīta thēkē ēkaṭi janapriẏa gāna. Ēbaṁ āmi āpanāra jan'ya giṭāra ēbaṁ bhaẏēsa punarāẏa cālu karaba ēbaṁ āpani 1 ēsabiḍi jaẏa karabēna gānaṭi Dsound ē mukti pāẏa. Ēṭā ki bānlāẏa bhālō?

hmmm..good..dear..u need my choose song..???

@edprivat ok brother i am truly stunned right now! I just opened my eyes and saw that you have completed this masterpiece. When i listened to it i was feeling more and more amazed! Thank you for all your hard work! Amazing job! Thank you for overcoming my challenge with such a style and such a dose of inspiration!

Hey @rumbledoor I am so happy you like it I was so worried because it's so close to the original. Thank you so much for inspiring me to go further in my head, to always push the boundaries of my imagination, that is the fuel that animates me and without this we're all just empty vessels

@edprivat nobody can say it better brother! Peace.

Can I request a song too?

Yes! Go for it my friend :)

Summertime sadness by Lana Del Rey

Alright bro I'll go listen to it

Wow! You are from another planet lol.. I like your voice.. Nice song bro

LOL bro thanks so much ! Did your story about inspiring people get picked? You see I follow what you're doing :)