Hello by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



The Art Of Letting Go

LISTEN TO HELLO ON DSOUND

What's up Steemit/Dsound!

I hope you're having an amazing week end, I happy to show you the latest song request from our friend @Warudo.
Congratulation on winning the 1.50 SBD!

The song that @warudo chose is "Hello" by Adele, which is an amazing song, but what a challenge!Thanks again for the inspiration my friend!

As usual I only have 1 week to rearrange, rewrite, record and produce the song, today I am 1 day late as the request was made 8 days ago, but you will all forgive me I am as I fell sick in the process.

The challenge for this song, is that it's so well written in the first place, so how do I make it my own?

Knowing that the original production used for the song is so minimalist and so close to my original type of production , with its underwater drums (muffled) and beautifully compressed vocals, that it was difficult to think of another way to do it.

To make it even harder, I asked @warudo what's his favorite style and he told me SOUL.

LISTEN TO HELLO ON DSOUND

Which is great! That's mine too!

But the song is already pretty soulful the way it is...

So I decided to go Old School:

What if a soul trio was rearranging the song, with limited instrumentation?
I have an extra challenge, my PC can't handle more than 7 tracks or starts crashing.Soon it won't be a problem with my new PC coming up :)

So with all that in mind, I had to keep it tight and in a limited time of 7 days.
I decided to change the song from a 4/4 (binary) to a shuffle 6/8 and I think it paid off.

Most of the work was in building coherence between the band and the backing vocals as that would be the foundation of the song.
I decided not to add any guitar as It would complicate the arrangement and the general sound.

For that particular arrangement a clean Stratocaster sound would have been great, or a Les Paul guitar.

The artist i had in mind during the writing was Stevie wonder, especially the 70's era with his clavinet.

Tempo 100 bpm.
Virtual instruments: Hybdrid Drums,Upright Bass,Clavinet,Rhodes
Real : vocals
Everything is produced by click, no midi keyboard.

I lost 2 hours trying to record "the perfect chorus", the early vocal version of chorus was only falsetto, then i decided to go full voice later on and wasted a lot of time.

LISTEN TO HELLO ON DSOUND

I eventually settled on a vocal take where I was just messing around , I would love to rerecord it later on when not sick

It was so much fun to work on this song, and a true challenge, but most importantly , I had to learn to let it go, as imperfect as the song is, there is a moment when you need to be satisfied . I hope you enjoy it as much as I do :)

@edprivat

#Hello #edprivat #adele #motown #cover

LISTEN TO HELLO ON DSOUND

Don't forget to ask me for as song request, i always accept a challenge and get rewarded 1.50 SBD if you're chosen. It needs to be a song that has a meaning to you, and that is a bit popular to make it easier for me :)
Hopefully soon I can make you win more SBD as @edprivat channel grows!


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Out of this world post my Friend! PHENOMENAL! I am BEYOND impressed! I enjoyed it immensely! My request is "Perfect" by Ed Sheeran! It reminds me of my Wife! You cannot get more meaning than that lol) All the best! Positive Energy! Great Karma! Your Friend @extraterrestrial :)

Thank you my friend! I note your song in my little magic book :)

Wow! I'm speechless, I don't know what to say right now I'm impressed, .. A BIG THANK YOU to @edprivat. You did a great work,it's interesting and your voice is so cool .. You did more than I'm expecting friend , higher you I pray 💜

Thanks @warudo, and thank you for the inspiration it was a great fun to work on this song :) . Good luck for the rest of the journey and don't forget you can compete again down the line

OK friend. I really appreciate

Sounds so nice..you sound like an angel.are you from another planet?...LoL!!
I am making a song request 'Havana' by Camila Cabello...

Thank you so much for the nice comment! Oh yeah I love that song so sexy! Noted in my magical book :)

Wow I love that song.....I like the twist you put on it.....sounded great
You should sing Daley - "Alone Together"

This is one of my favorite songs of all time. Me and my wife sing it together all the time to each other.

Wow that is such a great song, what a great challenge to rework on it! That will be interesting to see I f I can even find my groove on it what a crazy track haha

Yeah I really love this song.....The production is amazing....The content is great....I would love to see if you could come up with your own flavor on this one

Ok I will give it a try :)

Interesting music
Music heals the soul
I love the lyrics

Good music. Keep it up

Thank you, i love your posts like this one

@edprivat Duuude i’ve been away for a week and i have to catch up! Amazing stuff as allways! Excelent choice on the song !

Welcome back bro ! The song was requested by @warudo !
Let me know if you have a song you like(it needs to be a bit famous), and have the chance to win 1 SBD !

@edprivat Oh my challenge has been set blackbird by The Beatles! I am waiting for it :)

ooops sorry you already told me I am sleepy this morning . I am actually working on it as we speak :)

wow this one is amazing dude

Thanks bro :) @darqub