Smoke

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Hey DSound fam!!

I recently uploaded an acoustic version of this song for the Steemit Open Mic Week 90 and I thought it would be fun to upload the fully produced version to see the transition from what I write on my acoustic guitar to the full production studio version of the song. It always kind of surprises me where these songs end up sometimes. Let me know if you have a preference!

This particular jam is about a failing relationship- a sad and chaotic time in my life. It's crazy how you can go from loving someone so deeply to arriving in a place in a relationship where you actually want to hurt that person. It's crazy how much pain words can cause. I think the lyrics pretty much sum it up. Hope you guys dig it!

Peace and love~


~Smoke~

You and I we stare across a hazy battlefield of grey
As words continue to rise in the air of things
That we never believed we’d ever speak
And then they fall, cutting through the flesh and bone and straight to soul
And all the secret places only we would know
Nothing hurts quite like wounds from your love

You can’t see that there’s smoke in the kitchen
There smoke in the kitchen
There a fire thats been a burning
But you can’t see that there’s smoke in the kitchen

We look away, unable any further to view the pain
And darkness brought on by our own youthful mistakes
Hindsight 20/20 looking back
Or is it too late? We’re both running on fumes that could set us a blaze
And burn this house down to the ground and seal us in graves
Dusted in the ashes of our love

But you can’t see that there’s smoke in the kitchen
There smoke in the kitchen
There a fire thats been a burning
But you can’t see that there’s smoke in the kitchen

You can’t see it I can’t believe it
Were going down in flames
Oh here we go
You can’t see it I can’t believe it
Were going down in flames
Oh here we go



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I am jealous of your talent ! seriously ! Give me some of yours !
That voice !!! and we all have been through some shit time with a loved one to the point of non return

For some reason, "Smoke in the kitchen" reminds me of our governments killing hundreds and thousands of poor souls, in the name of democracy, for wars that no one wants

Yo! I'm so jealous of yours!!! We should sing a song together!

You know I've never thought about it like that before but I can see it. Very interesting point of view.

Well apparently @ivan.atman got something for us in mind :) I can't wait !

I know, I saw that!! I've been running around all day getting stuff for a music video shoot and haven't had a chance to respond yet- I'm sorry @ivan.atman!! But I saw that briefly pop up on my phone. So down!!

Nailed it!

@elainefaye @edprivat
Looking forward to this fam ✌

Congratulations @elainefaye! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @elainefaye! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

esta publicacion me encanta el diseño muy creativo