Take a Moment

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Hey everyone!

This is a song I wrote and recorded in 12 hours.

Yup, that's right. 12 damn hours.
Here's what happened:
A client called me up in the evening and said they desperately needed a track for a film edit but they needed it by 8am. Now, although I got the call at 5pm, the director only came about 2 hours later and left at 8.
Thus began a night brimming over with both creativity and a constant, mild panic.
But, as my good friend Teboho Maidza says: "Pressure makes diamonds.". He also says: "pressure burst pipe", but lets not dwell on that.
In the end they never wound up using this particular track and I had to compose another. It may not have been quite right for them, but perhaps its right for my @dsound fam
I recorded all the guitar with 2 microphones: MD421 & TLM103.
Vox recorded with Audio Technica 4050.

Enjoy! Follow me @heypapalegend



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

What a great story!

I quite often find my best music is created when it's done quickly. Some songs I have spent weeks trying to perfect and they never quite hit the mark. Other times I have jammed something out and it has worked immediately!

Pressure does indeed make diamonds and this is a great little track!

Amen to that @atomcollector ! Sometimes the fire of creativity burns hot and fast :) I often find if I give myself all the time in the world to finish a song, it just never ends up being finished. I have so many songs sitting in my "bottom drawer" that I need to pull out and just finish. Sigh. :)

Maybe we should swap drawers and finish each others :P

Haha! That's not a bad idea! XD

wow man you really good :)I 'm a music producer too :) I would like to make an collab with you ^^ your voice sounds like Calvin Harris ^^ i would like to make a song with you brother ^_^ keep it up I really like what you did (Y)

Nice. Lets do it.

you have discord ? can we talk on discord?

@Heypapalegend, I’m new to your work and wondering if you’d be interested in collaborating with a poet?

Here’s my latest reading on @dsound : https://steemit.com/dsound/@yahialababidi/what-do-animals-dream-a-readin-on-dsound

If you wish to explore this further we could use Steemit chat or discord. Wishing you continued Inspiration ✌🏼