Jan Marini - Once

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

When I write songs, it's rarely based on my personal experiences. I find it hard to write that way. Some songwriters do well with that style, I don't. "Once" is basically a product of my imagination. I was 16 when I wrote it. I wrote with big words and heartbreaking lines. Very age-inappropriate.

Fast forward to 2009. I knew I had to rewrite some lines and revise some melodies. I did it one fine day, not too sunny and not gloomy. In our garage. Seriously. I was so desperate to change the first line; then my husband goes, "It was one fine day..." (probably basing it on the current weather, which, we apparently had the same impression of), the same tune that you'll hear in the song is the exact tune he sang. So, technically, he is my co-writer for this one. It was half a line, but it was the most essential line that I needed at that moment. I finished rewriting the whole song in about 15 minutes.

Hope you guys like it. If you can relate to the lyrics, I totally understand. I had all the heartbroken people in mind while writing this.



(This is a song that I originally wrote in my teens and revised and finalized in 2009. The first line, "It was one fine day..." was a great contribution from my husband. Then all the words flowed like running water afterwards.)

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

ganda ng voice! wow! 😍😍😍it's not easy to compose lyrics of a song but it becomes so much easier when you found an inspiration ❤

No inspiration for this one kasi break-up song sya not based on my experience. Haha. But yes, mas madali sumulat pag inspired. :)

I really like the melody of this song.

petmalu lodi papakinggan ko yang musika mo thumbs up

Thank you

Again, you nailed it, lodi. Ganda ng song :D Petmalung petmalo po :D

Ahahaha talaga ba? Salamat!

Yes po, ma'am :D Malupet talaga. :D

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Oh wow thank you!

omg! beautiful song and voice! reminds me of celine dion!

what the! hindi ko agad napakingan!
Kumanta ka pala sa wish 107.5!!! Wow! Panalo!!! (^_^) more music, please...