Beauty's Colors (original song)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


So, this song kind of makes me kind of sound ugly and desperate, if you look at it from a certain point of view, but I didn't intend for it to be that way. I was just trying to make the point that you shouldn't make up your mind about someone before you get to know them, especially if it's because of their appearance or their social status.

Lyrics:

You say that I am not what you desire.
I'm not your sweetened, steaming cup of tea.
But I'm confident that you have been misguided.
You just haven't the woman inside of me.

I might be slightly jagged around my edges,
and most likely I could use a lesson in grace.
But don't underestimate my invitation.
I could satisfy your craving if you'd taste me.

I am just a woman
longing for just a man
And I bear beauty's colors
underneath this old, faded gown

You believe that I'm not moving forward,
and I'll admit it that I am happy where I stand
But if you'll give me half a chance
and just once dance
I'll make it worth your while
to slow things down

Don't terminate my night before your dawn comes
Don't throw away my heart because my face is worn.
Sometimes fate is hidden by the shadows of skin,
and until you scratch my surface you will never comprehend

that I am just a woman
longing for just a man
and I bear beauty's colors
underneath this old, faded gown

I am just a woman
hungry for just one man
and I bear beauty's colors
underneath this old, faded gown.

©serena matthews



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Beautiful song and such nice tones, the lyrics are diverse and paint a picture.

Wow, this one goes straight to my very favorite of your songs! So honest and naked and vulnerable! Thanks for being so beautiful <3

Timothy, thank you and I miss you! You've fallen off the earth again.

Yeah i know, i will comeback in full force in may! Just so much going on now :/

It's cool.. May isn't that far away. . Don't forget. 😊 ❤️

There's something about your style, sound and songwriting that reminds me of the earlier work of Julia Stone (from Angus and Julia Stone). She's an awesome Australian singer-songwriter in a duo with her brother who I'm friends with. i think that you'd love her (and their) music. But anyway, this melody is very hooky (which reminds me of a Ben Harper song actually) and your voice sounds beautiful and with just the right amount of emotion in it for the listener to really feel it. It's an awesome song! (by the way, the references of what it reminds me of is a big compliment)... Love it!

Nathan, that means so much to me coming from you. I know that sentence is thrown out to artists from other artists quite excessively, but I really mean it if I say it to someone. You're one of the most talented musicians I've ever seen, and I'm so blessed to have connected with you. I hope we're friends forever. ♥

This is just great , love your voice .

Thank you ❤️

beautiful Serena , doing a song like this , just vocals , guitars and the truth as Bob Dylan would say it , it's one of the hardest things to do , this was a very beautiful song with a powerful message :) . My morning just brightened up a little :) . Much love !

♥ Pechi, thank you so much, and you quoted Bob Dylan, he's one of my favorite favorite favorites. I wish I could play guitar like you do. I would never leave it alone. I've never had the patience for lessons, I get so frustrated. I would drive you crazy if you were my teacher. "No cookies for you, Serena!" And then I would have to stand in the corner.

Oh my gosh! I'm literally in musical love! What a feel! Wonderfully simplistic in it's creation and conjures up all kinds of thoughts and feelings in me! Rarely happens to me! Touching indeed @paintingangels

Thank you so very much, Darren! Hey do you know what's cool? YOU just posted a song about "Just one man" looking for a girl and I posted one that says "Just a woman" looking for a man! Whaaat are the odds. I'm so giggly over here now. ♥

Hello I'm here! 😂
Whaaaaat? That's crazy! We are definitely connected through the notes hun!
I'm also giggly now too!
Cheers
Darren xx

That was lovely in it's melancholy feeling!
There's something here that just grabs you by the heart strings...

I just realized I never answered back!! thank you amber, you are always so sweet to me. ♥ hugs!