Unplugging yourself from the matrix - Disconnect every so often

in #dsound6 years ago



I'm a great believer in disconnecting yourself from technology every so often and integrating with your fellow human. Technology in the last thirty years have given us some of the most monumental advancements of humankind, but until we learn how to limit and balance the act between technology and life then we're going to have a bad time. Enjoy :)

Picture kindly provided by Pixabay.com which is a public domain media sharing site



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I fully agree with your thoughts/opinions about, perhapbs I may call it a sensible way of making use of technology. Even -of course - using high tech in my studio I always try - quite often successfully - to go back to the roots and use quite "untechnical/non-technical" things and ideas in my productions. It´s the sound and not the way it is produced, that counts. I´ll follow you right away! Have a great time! Rolf

I think this is a good stance :) - break away for a bit, if only a little bit :)

For me the technology was always the most positive thing, especially because I had to work to own it so my connection to it is kind of special. It was never the limiting environment, it actually allowed me to develop a side of me that was impossible to express anywhere in my real world.

And as I am a natural born extrovert, I was extremely social even as a very small child, an outlet which I gain in my adult part of the life channeled through the power of the internet and technology was a true blessing for me.

The cultural blockage is evident in media, but not in the internet, there you are completely right. I used the Facebook, but it never impressed me too much.

The stuff you talk about the presence, yes, it is quite different to peek into the person's mind, how they think, what is a dynamic of their feelings and internal dialogues , because we do that when we 'read' a person, much more than while we talk in 3D which is quite weird, because we can't see a person. It can be quite overwhelming, especially if a person in question is me, because I have a tendency to perceive a lot of things in that way. Too much. I overthink everything.

Sometimes I even think that I maybe gain too much of my friend's privacy for example, while discussing some things, you can't see some of those things in every day life. And, as mentioned before I am extrovert, so many of those people would never talk about certain things with me, as they are maybe even withdrawn because of my eloquence and outgoing nature, I come too forceful in the normal discussions.

I believe that technology gives them a courtesy of a shield against my energy, as you suggested people feel safer that way. But, I see this situation from a different angle, because I will get off-lined if I am too energetic, and in real life they don't have that luxury.

Gossip websites flourish on lack of respect and ability to be a keyboard warrior , lol.

Technology is kind of crappy from a side where people loose a touch with the reality, when they forget that it is not a machine on the other side, and when they become somebody else.

Even with my mileage in talking and talking, I can't do that, because the fiction we sometimes make can even produce a sort of a semi-illusion of something we want to believe, but it is not true.

Real conversation just can't be substituted entirely with anything, because we are not wired that way.

That's my opinion. I hope you like my reaction to your recording.

Yes, I agree with this. I've learned to be a chameleon with my communication though - stepping back when someone wants the top spot, and also leading when a person needs to be lead. I need human interaction on the personal level else I'll go crazy lol

Would try going a day without technology soon

Good for you :)

I totally agree with this. Disconnecting yourself from internet for a while can do wonders for your mental health.

Oh most definitely :)

I believe the best way to try to balance this situation is trying to reconnect with nature and open spaces. This way humans will be able to reconnect to one another and to their sorroundings.

I think you're right there - balance is key, though. A healthy balance between the internet and every day life.

being online all the time can really mess with your head, appreciate this sentiment and this wisdom

listen mine , 😘

This has been on my mind lately. I was driving through a small town recently. Up ahead, the street I was on ended in a T. In the distance, in the row of buildings at the point of the T, I could see people inside a business of some kind. It had a large open doorway -- maybe for a former car repair place. And a lot of windows. The owner of the business was smart about using this visual fishbowl that all the oncoming traffic couldn't help but look into when approaching.

As I got a bit closer, I could see a lot of people inside. I thought they were dancing, and in one of those instantaneous moments of a thought, I felt a sense of pleasant surprise. Seems like people don't often get together anymore to do something other than just talk. And we spend more time physically alone, but mentally connected by machines to people many miles away.

But as I got even closer, I could see that nobody was dancing. Everyone there was working out, aka exercising, in their own independent separate spaces. Not interacting with each other at all.

Wouldn't it be nice if people started going to dances again? It's such an enjoyable way to teach and learn social skills, etiquette, manners, empathy, group effort and accomplishment, conversation, community, and so many other worthwhile things. Including enjoying the sounds of melodic, harmonious, rhythmic music, and exercise.

There are a few places in some cities where all kinds of music and dancing, by people from all over the world, takes place, but it seems like those places are becoming less common as the years go by, and the custom of going to them, whether by yourself or with another person or a group, is too.

It used to be very common for young people to meet their future spouses at dances. "Going To The Dance" was a central part of healthy communities for... come to think of it, millennia. All over the world. How strange that it could disappear.

Unfortunately this is the case the world over right now. No-one knows how to strike up a conversation with their fellow human nowadays. I think part of it is fear, and the other part of it is not knowing how to.

good post sir, i agree with your thoughts.

a day without technology........i look forward to achieve soonest