Future Memories

in #dsound5 years ago


Future Memories

A couple of years back, I went through a phase of wanting to try producing tracks from different electronic genres, kind of as an exploratory exercise, to try out different production techniques.

This track was the first attempt at techno when I got to that genre, I was pretty happy with the result at the time.

OK, so it's not meant to be an exact fit for that genre, I tried to preserve the dynamic range rather than pushing the compression for a start.

Anyway, I did pick up certain things from this, that I still use in other tracks today (even the more chilled out stuff).

I may well produce more techno type tracks in the future, but I have a ton of other WIP tracks right now that I need to crack on with.

'Future Memories' is the title track of a 3 track release from 2017, which included two other techno(ish) tracks.

ISRC
USQY51716061

Release date
17 March 2017

Thanks for listening!

If you have trouble listening on dsound you can listen on the following platforms:

Choon: https://choon.co/tracks/0yy0ec8pemm/future-memories
Musicoin: https://musicoin.org/embedded-player/0x3268a7172e708d0f88c2c0380cf5f7d498139973

FOLLOW Skaarl


More about Skaarl:

All types of music appeal to me, particularly the more relaxed genres - chillout, ambient, downtempo, trip hop, jazz, latin, IDM, etc. Usually I will create downtempo electronic tracks, although I go through phases where it gets a bit more upbeat, just whatever I happen to be feeling at the time.

Back in 2019, continuing working with other artists, creating several remixes for Juxta, as well as collaborating with winkandwoo on Daybreak. Member of the EMA collective, Blocktronika, and have been part the ACR community for several years.

“Skaarl is not only a great artist but very supportive of others on the platform, top bloke” - The Turtle Project
@theturtleproject

“Skaarl is a Cool Cat and a great musician. He pulls great heavy driving music out of his pocket and slaps you. Soft at 1st. His track ‘I Fear The Robots’ with Juxta says it all.” - wav-Dr.
@wav-dr

“Skaarl has affectionately acquired various nicknames in the first couple of months in EMA but the main ones we refer to him as are “Trouser Man”, “Señor Trouser Man” and “Don Skaarlioni”! We’re surprised he doesn’t mention this in his bio below but we’ll leave it up to the man himself to tell you more!” - EMA
@emalliance (steemit)

This post was generated for free from


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Yes, not typical techno came out, but interesting. I also want to try out to make techno track :)

Well the genre is usually much more compressed then I have made it, I prefer to have dynamic range myself, so thought I’d see what that sounded like 😃

The ending sounds to me more like traditional techno. Like the sub bus, very groovy.

Ahh yeah, I gotta have the subs in there, right? 😄

skaarl bringing the groove :)

It’s from the future though 😉