Original poem: Hawkins Bazaar - Live at The Fiddler's Elbow

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Hey steemers,

This is an original poem of mine called Hawkin's Bazaar, taken from my 2015 live album, Artefacts of Desire.

It’s a long, rambling set of stories and vignette’s from people’s lives; characters glimpsed and imagined. I wrote it in the cafeteria at a depressing office I worked in in Bristol, probably over ten years ago now. It was my attempt to write a Tom Wait’s song, and the meter is loosely based on the melody to Tom Traubert’s Blues. I did attempt to set it to music but it didn't quite come off.

I cut out quite a few stanzas for the performance, so have included the full version below.

Note: Hawkin's Bazaar is a gift shop chain. Not sure why I named the poem this, but I liked the sound of it and it kind of stuck.

Thanks for listening. Let me know what you think in comments and remember to up, resteem and follow me if you like what you hear.

Hawkins Bazaar

When Polly came to find you

the past was still behind you

and all the plans you made were still secure

But things can change so quickly

from sticky sweet to sickly

and enemies are founded on a kiss

But Polly was no sweetheart

with her hardened head and street heart

she toppled men with hardly any care

It was not that you were lonely

bitter sweet and homely

it’s just that she was aching for a kill

She grabbed your heart and strangled

left you battered, bruised and mangled

about your face your heavy thoughts were hung

But it didn’t seem to phase her

she went straight in with her taser wit

and ruthless charm, that’s plain to see

She left you gaunt and haggard

crucified and ragged

stumbling through the neon streets at night

Where you stumbled to the chamber

of some God-forsaken stranger

and threw your cards right in and bought the rounds

But your new found friends were ogres

broken souls and loners

the perfect place to hide your harrowed heart

But it didn’t last, it couldn’t

and no one thought it wouldn’t end this way

(I’m sure that fools aren’t blind);

Same as wounds don’t close but doors do

and mine don’t hurt as yours do

(I've cauterised too many times for that)


And now it’s time for my tale

I’m getting into full sale

I’ve sailed right by your ocean many times

In the absence of a stranger

and the comfort of a manger

the night has culled its quiet to the quick

In the stuff of honest legend

from Bermondsey to Bridgend

History has absentee'd its truth

So, do you know who has the answers

in the Board Rooms or the Dance Floors?

and do they ever think of them at all?

But me, I’m just a desk clerk

for a softly savage despot

Don’t ask for much, don’t care for much at all

I just focus on the numbers

while my conscience slowly crumbles

and as I sink I think of you again

Remember when the future

seemed custom built to suit you?

But now you’ve gone it seems so long ago

And I was just a child then

so carefree and so wild when

it seemed that all my dreams were cast in stone

But since you left I’ve faltered

from the path I never altered

in all the years you kept me in your home


Now it’s morning and it’s cold here

I’m resigned to growing old here

these spinning doors are kicking at my heels

Though I never planned to stay here

it gets me through the day, dear

if I can speak of you with humble sounds

though the light is slowly fading

the mighty beasts are trading

blows and cards and pleasantries of fear

Now I might be slightly jaded

and my jeans are slightly faded

my empty steps are hanging in the dark

But I know I can’t be broken

by some sentimental token

of simpler times and simpler points of view

I’m dead weight but I’m steady

over eager, over ready

over everyone I ever loved or lost

But it doesn’t make me bitter

to know that I’ll forget her

as soon as I am getting on my way

On my way to where? I don’t know

I have drifted, gone with the flow

and it’s always left me stranded on the shore

And on the docks I’ve wandered

through the warehouse, down the old road

that leads to places darker still than here


So if you see me in your headlights

amongst the freaks, amongst the deadbeats

don’t hide it isn’t you they’ve come to steal

True, they’ve seen no one quite like you

no one shine quite as bright as you

Our Lady Of The Church Of Wasted Saints

Who in shadows, holes and motels

brings pleasure from the brothels

where once she cut her cloth to fit her eyes

That once had shined serenely

sometimes emerald, sometimes seaweed

for Our Saviour On The Laminated Cross

I’m in the running for a favour

a hot meal or a saviour

and when it’s done I wont ask you to stay

We’ll just listen as the raindrops

annihilate the rooftops

embracing in our solemn little scene



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I'm also a musician, fellow musicians have to support each other, I wait for your record work and you dedicate sir

Thanks; send me a link to some of your music, I'd like to hear it :)

okay, soon maybe i will show you my music work to you, i am very excited once sir

Thanks, I look forward to hearing it.