Original song: The Night You Sang Hallelujah - Live at The Fiddler's Elbow

in #dsound6 years ago



Hey steemers. Here's my song The Night You Sang Halelujah, from my album Artefacts of Desire. It was written whilst I lived in Bristol, England and tells various real and imagined stories of people's lives in the city.

Lyrics:

The Night You Sang Hallelujah

L Ron Hubbard and the Church of Scientology
Are trying to outlaw the art of spontaneity
And the Bristol boys are stepping out
And very soon they'll gloat
At the old man with his new headphones
And his model sailing boat

See the Lady Boys of Bangkok
Cage dancing at a show
Whilst ageing hippies moralise
on Desolation Row

All these passing scenes they come to me
And very soon they go
Replaced by friends and memories
Of all the people that I know

Like remember the night when you sang Hallelujah
The night when you sang Leonard Cohen
You said you felt kinda peculiar
And you should really get going
Oh I should have stopped you

The dark haired boy his wheelchair jams
His mother's in a state
How can she eat her five a day
With so much on her plate?

And the old men's fighting repartee
Is getting rather old
They came in for a cup of tea
And then they stole the show

Myself I am just sitting here
I'm with a friend of mine
We're catching up on six lost years
We've seen the temple signs

But not the ones where they talk to god
Of miracles and crimes
It's just the one where they always pray
That the train comes in on time

And then I'm drifting off again,
Back to the might-have-beens
Sometimes I find it hard to choose
Between my life and dreams

I'm just sitting here, drifting off
Caught up in tangled schemes
But not the ones that we focused on
when we were just sixteen

Like remember the night when you sang Hallelujah
The night when you sang Leonard Cohen
You said you felt kinda peculiar
And you should really get going
Oh I should have stopped you

The clown girl with her fake bouquet
beneath the Ferris wheel
She's talking to herself again
She thinks this shit is real

And the things we do inside our lives
To make us more secure
They're nothing to the people who
prepare our minds for war

It's coming back, it's coming soon,
just like it did before
All our hopes and dreams turned mercenary
Our open wounds to sores

Like remember the night when you sang Hallelujah
The night when you sang Leonard Cohen
You said you felt kinda peculiar
And you should really get going
Oh I should have stopped you

Cover photo by Osman Rana on Unsplash



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)