Jorah Mormont oil sketch

in #dtube5 years ago


Hi everyone! Hope you are enjoying the final season of Game of Thrones as I do. Was very busy last couple of weeks but finally have found some time to paint. Here is a timelapse video of 3 hours alla prima portrait painting of Jorah Mormont. Music by Death in Rome. Hope you like it!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi arthurgain,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Amazing work!
Coincidentally, yesterday we were invited to a friend's apartment to watch the first three episodes of this last season of GOT. Mormont has been one of our favorite characters.
I have a great deal of respect for oil painters. I was never able to grasp the technique. I always felt intimidated by oleos. The mess, the mistakes that I was unable to fix.
You work oil as if they were water colors (I am guessing you used some on the background).
It was great watching you work your way in the canvas. Wonderful result.

Wow, amazing work. Not very fond of GOT since I have not watched it, but goggled the character, boeyyy your sketch looks so real. :)

I had been eagerly looking forward to this season, but so far I find it a little underwhelming. The season feels rushed to me.

But your own work, excellent.

So far it is the weakest season of whole show, maybe due to absence of story per se or maybe because they want to wrap it up so soon, hard to say. But nonetheless still very enjoyable. I hope GRRM will eventually finish the rest of the books

Watched S08E04 the other day. It just gets worse. It's turned into a sad parody of itself. Monkeys could do a better job than the show script writers. Pity GRRM is so damn slow.

Your artwork is superb. You can be compared to those making portraits from the medieval times and I think you are great at doing it. You capture the details of the image which I think will be significant especially if you try to preserve something for the future ages to come. Oil painting is one of the hardest artwork that you can do, its complexity, from preparing the canvass, to choosing the right mixture of paints to create the desired color. Marvelous.