You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dtube Does What?!? Why I Won't Be Using Dtube...For Now

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the information. I have only recently learned how to post videos to YouTube - have never been much of a blogger or anything like that before coming to SteemIt 9 months ago.

I tried looking into and using Dtube about 3 months ago, but found it lacking. I couldn't find any good posts about how to upload videos, what format they needed to be in, etc. There seemed to be some kind of program, code, or video codec that you had to install on your own computer in order to get it to work right. And, overall it was just more hassle to bother with than I wanted to take time out for using.

But, more than anything, the quality of watching videos just isn't quite there yet. I still come across many, many dtube videos that I click on to play and... nothing happens. Of course, somebody will come on here and say that it's my problem of there's something wrong with my computer. But, if there's something wrong or missing with my setup - why do videos from every other social media platform work just fine? Until dtube works its' $#!t out, it's not going to be "the next big thing," IMHO.

For now, dtube is still not working right because I go to the site, click on their videos, and they don't play properly. I have no similar problems on YouTube - so I'll keep on using it until it doesn't work any more. I don't see that happening any time soon, despite dtubes' best efforts, so far.

As far as the advertising revenue bitches and complaints go, I have no horse in that race - don't make any money on either platform, so it doesn't make any difference to me. As a simple consumer of "just watching videos" for learning and entertainment, YouTube is still working much better than dtube. Nothing against dtube - and I hope they get everything all worked out and running smoothly. Right now, they don't seem to.