How I Create and Edit My Steemit Videos

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


I've had a couple of people ask what camera, mic, video editing software, and lighting I use for my videos. So in today's video I thought l would share my complete setup with you guys. It's very simple and nothing complicated which is just how I like it. You can find links to everything I mentioned in today's video below.

Video Lighting: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015DYIQ94/
Screen Recording Software: https://screencast-o-matic.com/refer/c2l0bKnBBw
Windows Movie Maker: https://www.windows-movie-maker.org
iMovie Video Software: https://www.apple.com/imovie/


If you're interested in more videos, tutorials, and how-tos, I encourage you to follow my channel and leave me replies of things you would like to learn about. If I don't know the answer, we'll learn together! :)


- Daily Comment Reward -

  1. Upvote this post
  2. Leave a unique comment (not just a "great video!" or "follow me")
  3. And you could win $20 USD worth of SBD!

That's it! It's also a great idea to go ahead and follow my channel so that you don't miss any upcoming posts. You can do that here: https://steemit.com/@brandonfrye

contest-winner.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for your setup recommendations. For people, who want to go completely free I would recommend recording with QuickTime (mac) and cut the Videos in Hitfilm4 (win+Mac) (free), it has a little bit more possibilities and is completely free

Excellent suggestion. Thanks @frathiemann!

Very informative video, thank you

You're welcome @sheilamae, thanks for the feedback!

Thanks for sharing. Great advice .. I would also place a small hardware store clamp light behind so that it shines on your back and one side of your face. Make sure the lamp itself is out of frame to separate yourself from the background.

This post has received gratitude of 3.53 % from @appreciator thanks to: @brandonfrye.

Very helpful, @brandonfrye. Thanks again!

Nice video and explanation of who to make great videos.... I need to get them lights as It seems I always seem to have a dark background and shadows. Very professional. I heard the sound and lighting are the two most critical elements you need to have for good videos.

Thanks. And yes, lighting and sound are very important. I got my lighting probably two or three months ago and love it.

thank you for telling us how you create and edit steemit videos.is good to know,maybe in the future i will try also.

Yeah go for it! :)

i will try,but will not be easy...i am sure.

Thanks for answering mine and I'm sure a lot of other peoples' questions Brandon! It's a very simple, but effective set up that you have - unfortunately my laptop Webcam isn't great so I'm looking at somehow using my phone.

Keep up the great posts!

Cool, glad that helped. There are some really good aftermarket webcams and they’re a lot cheaper than they used to be. I think Logitech makes some of the best. But there are a lot of options out there.

Okay cool, thanks Brandon!

Brilliant, thanks man. And you got a customer from that Screencast-O-Matic. That is perfect, I've been looking for something like that for a long long time dude, you have no idea lol

Looks like the simplest option for screencasts and for non-techies like me...Well...It's a no brainer.

Yeah I’ve been very happy with their software. You’ll get regular updates too with new features. It’s come a long way since when I originally got it three years ago. Anyways, thanks for using my link. I found out that if you refer 5 people then yours is free.

Thank you @brandonfrye for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 11.31% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Wow. One of your best videos so far! I really like the 'keep it simple' aspect.

The only problem I see is the simple editors for Mac and Windows. I am all Linux all the time so I'll have to see what's available open source. I'm sure there is something...

Thanks Brandon for another really good lesson.

Thanks @bigtom13, and I didn't even think to lookup a Linux-based video application. I'm sure there is one though and hope you find it. Pretty cool to hear you're a Linux guy. I used to run a version of Linux on one of my old PCs and it's pretty cool.

Nice one again I also keep it real simple all I use is my gopro and edit on the go pro editor. Sometime I use my Iphone

Cool, and yeah that's another great option. The Go Pro Editor has gotten a lot better over the years and I use it occasionally.

Great video, thank you. If Dtube will become faster than it will be the nr1 video portal.

Thanks @funkytect. And I also hope it becomes faster to load. I know the dtube team is working hard to improve their platform and are continually coming out with new features. This is just the beginning. :)

Yeah, this is just the Beta version :)

I'm a newbie on Steemit, and was searching YouTube for some tips and tricks, and trying to understand all the lingo, etc. I found your video about Witnesses, and it was so helpful! I think I have a lot of watching to do, you have some great videos! I hope I have some popcorn :-)
Thanks!

Lol thanks @kimmiecfields! I’m also putting together a website to categorize my videos. I think it’ll help people easily locate what they’re looking for. :)

That would be awesome!

thanks ^^

Very helpful video. Thanks for all the tips.

So far most of my posts here on steemit have been written, but I have been possibly thinking of incorporating a video or two every now and then. The various things you use to make your videos has given me some places to start looking if the time comes when I want to post videos. Thanks.

Been here since December 2017 and been posting quality posts i think people may find of interest and just don't seem to catching the attention of many people... are there any tips or tricks that could get my posts noticed, commented on? I am trying to build an online presence and would like some guidance if anyone has any input.

Any information is appreciated @brandonfrye

For a simple setup you produce great results, very inspiring brandon

I'd never heard of screencast-o-matic before. $18 dollars a year is a good deal if you make a lot of videos. I've used OBS before. It's free but it's a little cumbersome to use.

Hey I saw I won the daily contest yesterday! Thank you so much Brandon.

I wanted to add that OBS is a great program for recording video/sound. It’s a common tool for twitch/YouTube streamers that’s absolutely free. You can easily arrange your video sources on screen, filter sound from the mic, and adjust the resolution of your final output.

Great advice - I've been putting off making videos because I'm apparently over-complicating things! Need to keep it simple. :)

Great article! Your Windows Movie Maker link leads to topwin-movie-maker.com, which, based on the software name clearly is not the original version of the software.

I would recommend changing the links to winmoviemaker.com, which has the original genuine files archived.

Than you for this post brandon.
I learned from this.
GOD Bless you dude.