DTube: "Error Private Posting Key is wrong"

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,
today I decided to have a look into the new steemit-based video platform DTube and to upload some content.
I generated a new password for my steemit account just moments ago. The new password is working for steemit obviously but when I try to login to DTube, I keep getting the message "Error Private Posting Key is wrong". The old password isn't working either.
Do I have to wait for a certain time until it will work for DTube?
Any help appreciated.
Thanks!

Sort:  

I had the same problem. It is in no way obvious what a posting key is and where you are supposed to find it. you'd think something like that would be on the login page considering someone could accidentally post very sensitive info without realizing the rammifications.
For anyone who doesn't know it's under Wallet - permissions

Thank you

Thanks so much. DTube is asking us to reveal a private key. According to blockchain rules 101 YOU NEVER REVEAL A PRIVATE KEY. Are they mental?

its only your posting key. not your account or password

Where is the steemit wallet? You'd think they would make this stuff somewhat intuitive :) Thanks in advance

Click on your icon in the upper right hand corner for the drop down menu.

Thank you !

Found it, thank you!

I am using the Posting Key
but the log in to D.Tube still doesn't work

Congratulations @bumsbud! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Oops, i figured it out: it requires the "Posting" key.. my bad. It's located in "Change Password" -> "Permissions"

Wow, thank you bumsbud. If you had nnot posted this, I would probably taken another day to figure this out.... I upvoted your answer, because others have to be having the same issue... Thank you again! :)

Where do you find your posting key? I'm so confused.

Go to Your Profile Icon and Click "Change Password" then go to "Permissions" then Click "Show Private Key" on the "Posting" Session.

I only find: change account password and when I'm there it doesn't show me permissions or private key. Just the option to generate a new password is there.. What to do?

Thanks, really helpfull comment :)

pues me pasa igual y no he cambiando mi contraseña

Thanks, I was running into the same issue.

Saved me trouble too. Thanks!

Please HELP, i have the same problem, but even the posting key is not helping me. I tried with it, but still gives me the Error - Private Posting KEy is Wrong. HELP!!

Hey, you click the button that says "show private posting key" it's in the area of the posting key in permissions from the change your password page.

Thank you! Didn't realize there was a button to "show private posting key" you had to click.

I tried using my POSTING key but I still get the same error. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks

Ah I figured it out. It requires the PRIVATE posting key!

Visit this URL -> https://steemit.com/@{{your_steemit_username}}/permissions

There will be multiple types of keys in the permissions tab. Find Private Posting Key as the first option.

Congratulations @bumsbud! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I have all my keys from my Steem wallet, except D-Tube keeps telling me my posting key is wrong when it's not. Any help??

hey! my bf is struggling with the same problem, did you find any solution?