No Time to Get to the Gym? Tabata with me Instead!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Watch No Time to Get to the Gym? Tabata with me Instead! video on DTube


## A quick yet intense at-home workout to get that body moving!
Hello Steemians! Plans for the gym fell through today, but that didn't stop me from getting in a good workout. Follow along if you'd like or just use this workout for ideas.

I love Tabatas! Why? They are quick, intense, extremely effective at improving both cardiovascular (aerobic) systems as well as anaerobic (muscular) systems . . . and did I mention quick?

In this video, I talk about some of my fitness goals, discuss Tabata protocol, and perform the actual 4+ minute Tabata (thus the lengthy video) =0)

If you are going to do this workout, be sure to gradually increase your heart rate by completeing a 5 minute warm-up. Also, be sure to determine your maximum heart rate (HRmax) and monitor it throughout the workout. During High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) sessions, like Tabata, it is common to be within the range of 80 to 86% of your HRmax.

Also, be sure to complete a cool down/stretching routine.

And finally, please exercise (no pun intended) care and good judgment. If you are new to this style of training, take it slowly. Tabata style training may not be right for everyone. According to Porcari and Talisa Emberts, M.S., as cited in the article listed below,

"based on the intensity of a Tabata workout, the average non-exerciser should be very careful with this type of training. “It could be potentially dangerous for them to be working this hard,” [Emberts] says. “Before people even attempt Tabata they probably need to have a pretty decent baseline level of fitness.”

To learn more about Tabata, check out the article "Is Tabata All It's Cracked Up To Be?" on Acefitness.org https://www.acefitness.org/prosourcearticle/3497/is-tabata-all-it-s-cracked-up-to-be

.

The Tabata

Jumping Jacks - 20 seconds
Active Rest - 10 seconds
Jump Squats - 20 seconds
Active Rest - 10 seconds
Sprints - 20 seconds
Active Rest - 10 seconds
Dumbell Swings - 20 seconds
Active Rest - 10 seconds
Lateral Jacks - 20 seconds
Active Rest - 10 seconds
Upright Dumbell Rows - 20 seconds
Active Rest - 10 seconds
High Knees - 20 seconds
Active Rest - 10 seconds
Bent Over Dumbell Rows

Hope you have a great Workout!

I'd love to hear from you! Let me know if you gave this workout a try! Do you Tabata? What style of training do you prefer?

Steem On Steem Strong!

Chanel

music by bensound.com

Sort:  

Very nice demonstration and explanation of what Tabata is all about! I appreciate you including the quote about making a good judgment. In my younger days I was always fit and active...4 children later I really haven't found the time, energy or motivation to get fit again. I do plan on starting soon to get things going but I will definitely need some beginner training. Maybe some time down the road when I'm back in shape I will rewatch this video and give it a try :)

Awesome @crosheille! I wish you well as you get back to it! I recall that after having my oldest I didn't work out for months. I made worse choices after my second. Finally after my third, I thought, I'd better get it together! So I changed my mindset, started slowly and am still working my way at getting better. My thoughts are that it's never too late to be the best you!

Thank you so much! I love this...

it's never too late to be the best you!

That is so very encouraging! Thank you very much! I won't give up, I am determined to get back to good health and take care of my body. 😊

awesome to see a fellow fitness dtuber on here!!

I love HIIT! I'll give yours a try. Thanks for sharing.

nice one, keep up the good work.

thanks @bussdee! Will do.

Congratulations @ch4nel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!