Are Millenials as lazy and screwed up as some people say?

in #dtube7 years ago


Super interesting interview I did -- particularly as a millenial myself -- about millenials. Do you agree with the guest's statements? Let me know!

Want me to cover a specific topic or story? Leave it as a reply!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

As a millennial and paramedic. I would say every generation has thier problems. Millennials especially the ones who went out got a job and are trying to do good for themselves don’t have the advantages as thier parents and thier grandparents had when it comes to economy and opportunities. How could my grandpa with no degree get a factory job for 35yrs buy a house and retirement with extra cash? Today most work twice the hours and will probably never be able to buy a house and what is retirement? But like I said every generation has thier problems. I see different people everyday and tbh if it wasn’t for these “milienals” who are in the military, paying taxes, working public safety there would be no way the other generations could survive. I think it’s a our entitled society as a whole is the issue.

You're hitting it right on the head. It's not the generations that are changing, it's the world around them. Placing blame is just a strange attempt at personalizing the issue.

Also I think there are incredible opportunities for millennials that our parents and grand parents never had. Its all about recognizing them and taking advantage of it.

True there’s pros and cons about it. I just don’t understand why the older generations bash millienals so much. I mean they raised them? Lol

Hahah exactly!

I wish I could've gone to college. Money was definitely a factor, being a homeless minor. Though, I dedicated myself to a trade, and have been lucky enough to find a good position, working for a good boss (even if he votes republican :p ).

Hey David, do you have any thoughts on the police shooting of Daniel Shaver in Mesa, Arizona?

you are doing right things. Please don't stop.

Spamming comments is frowned upon by the community.

Comment spam is currently defined by @steemcleaners as:

  • 10 or more generic comments per day that are not in response to a question posed by the post or comment. “Thanks”, “Great Post!”, “Great Photo!”, “Good”, “Like”, “Nice”, “Wow”, “Cute”, “Follow me”, etc.

  • Commenting on old posts to hide self up-votes or a voting trail.

  • Copy/Paste comments that serve no purpose or the purpose is self promotion.

  • Comments that inform the contributor that they have been up upvoted, resteemed, or flagged when the curator does not actually upvote, resteem, or flag the post.

  • Unsolicited and off topic referral links.

Continued comment spamming may result in action from the cheetah bot.

More Info: Abuse Guide - 2017.

From my observation, they are quite inpatient in reaching their goals !

millenials are super awesome....

I'll have to get the book. Should be good reading.

You guys are not why would people even think that. Check this out I made a call for mention notification on steemit here I think it's important now what do u think

amazing topic and video.
I truly think that millennials can be VERY driven if they can find a place to call home and a community to call family. There tends to be quite a bit of separation in today's youth growing up.. I'm a millennial myself.. I think lol. i'm 26. I feel like one at least haha!

Great post~ RT ⭐️

Congratulations @davidpakman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi, I want you to make a specific story.

Good interview. I am on the younger side of the X Generation and definitely feel the side-effects of living in a culture and political environment with "increased rate of exploitation". It is clear, however, that Millenials are carrying a heavier burden that will have dire consequences. For example, I have been taking advantage of the Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) program by working for a non-profit, and in one more year the program claims I will be eligible to receive full, tax-exempt loan forgiveness. If Betsy Devos has her way, however, the PSLF program will no longer be available for graduates (hopefully they cannot pull the rug up from under me at the last minute). This will not only remove an escape route to loan enslavement, there will be no incentive for people to fill important but low-wage public service jobs. I heard a speech by Prof. Wolff on YouTube today which seems to have summed it up well: we are giving money to the people who are using our money to steal more of our money.