Unreal 4 Flat / Globe Horizon Calculator - Overview

in #dtube6 years ago


This is an overview of my new flat/curved Earth horizon calculator and visualizer for Unreal Engine 4. I will be using this to replicate curve test scenarios to see the effects of perspective and atmospheric distortion over distances up to 100 km.

There are so many arguments within the flat vs ball debate that I feel could be easily resolved with mathematically accurate visual demonstrations. Angular size, limits of light at small angles, refraction, atmospheric lensing, diffraction and other phenomenon all effect what we see over long distances. This calculator will serve as a standard environment for testing many scenarios, and I am always looking to improve its accuracy.

Sorry there is no sound or music.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I am glad you are taking on this project.