Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Can steem benefit from this in any way if dtube takes off? Either directly or indirectly?

So that is the only way? The vast majority of accounts on here don't use dtube, so no benefit there for most. Doing an airdrop to those that haven't used dtube in the past is probably a good way to grow your user base... you would be bringing in new users instead of ones you already have...

Just a thought.

Regarding the witnesses not listening... well perhaps they are more open now? I mean they did just approve a change that the majority of the community seems to be against. I think a lot of what you are proposing makes a lot more sense than what we are doing by just shuffling the deck chairs on the Titanic with the EIP.

Here is where I don't believe you: when you say you didn't have influence to convince (read my comment below). What you should have done is put in the work while they don't listen, post about it regularly (not more than once a month), and people would naturally gravitate towards your ideas if your work is good. STEEM can get exponentially increasing amounts of contributions from devs as the chain grows.

In my opinion, what would have been better for both Dtube and Steem, would be to accelerate the SMTs development process using your help and implement the features you needed as optional for any SMT. Dtube was the main candidate for an SMT, and SMTs are not necessarily clones of the current version of STEEM, they might have changes in their protocols which are not directly implemented to STEEM coin.

You focus on the negatives of staying with steem. What about the positives? What about the negatives of starting you own chain, getting adoption etc... I don’t know honestly if you start providing value to steem and post about it I don’t see why you wouldn’t have become a witness yourself. Also, 3speak is not any kind of partner to STEEM and you were treated equally to Dlive. If people decide to post somewhere other than Dtube, it’s their own choice. Maybe it’s because oracle d and theycallmedan give everything to steem? All they do is provide value, so people want to help them. Play their game, and don’t focus on useless witnesses. It cam only get better with time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Will D.Tube create Steem Accounts / or promote Steem Accounts creation in a special way?

nice i used dtube in the past, at least in @coininstant account!

Very intriguing! I have signed up to claim an avalon account the same as my steem name, and am now publishing videos on d.tube!

I think you are on to something with only curation and the author votes first! Can't wait to get data from this great experiment :)

This incentivized our users to create more frequent, but lesser quality content

You wouldnt believe how happy i am that you said this. This is something i was saying about Dtube content from day one. People were simply incentivized to do the bare minimum, to reach the threshold of quality good enough for a dtube upvote.
It is unfortunate but i cant remember any content creator on Dtube doing something more, investing into a single piece of content that can stand the test of time.
And its really not them to blame. I can understand them. The name of the game was "consistency and quantity."

I will be honest and say that i was extremely annoyed by this. (as you might know :) )
Since consistency and quantity was what made you win, quality was considered less and less.

Even i just gave up on trying to create anything greater because i knew that the videos where i spent hours and hours, where i would get a professional producer ( I made only 3 of those) werent worth making when i could make 20 lower effort videos in that time and make more money. I did try my best to improve but my editing skills were never top notch.

The system in place never encouraged focusing on quality and without quality you cant really have a successful Dtube.

I contacted you a few days ago on Discord (now i know why you are busy. :) ) and im happy to say that i managed to scrape up the 1000 USD i needed to make the type of content i always wanted to make.
Still, because this is Steem i know that i could have made at least 15 videos in the time it took to make this one and based on my previous payouts i know i would have made at least 200-300 USD from them.

But i decided to give that up and take a loss because it is time we changed our mindset. We are taking but arent giving our best. And we are all guilty of it.

Amazing news and i cant wait for newdtube to take off. I know it will. :)

It is unfortunate but i cant remember any content creator on Dtube doing something more, investing into a single piece of content that can stand the test of time.

The problem is, that anyway, all my DTube videos didn't work anymore after some weeks, so that I always had to save them at another place, too. So even in case they were good they had no chance anyway to "stand the test of time". :) (Concerning the quality, all my videos are precious for me to remember certain moments, and I want to keep them forever, even if I am not a skillful video creator at all.)

Many ideas in this post above sound very interesting and innovative, but as long as videos don't last long on the platform, DTube isn't a real option for me.

Run your own IPFS node and store your videos there. Then as long as your IPFS node is online, your videos are available. If your videos are good someone like me might even save a copy of your video to my own node. The network then has 2 more places to find copies of it.

You can use a raspberry pi and a 6TB hdd all for under $300 USD.

I am super stoked about these new changes.
I more or less stopped using d.tube because of the 7 day payout limit. I wanted to make tutorials that that could collect on votes even 20 years out.

With this new d.tube and my own IPFS node, now I can! Woho! Good job, thanks and I look forward to posting a bunch to d.tube

I am new on D.Tube and was wondering what this IPFS was. I am a veteran YouTuber with over 30K minutes of viewing time a month. I just uploaded my second video, and the entire process is still new to me. I would love to look into this Pi and HDD build. Is there a required ISP or recommended monthly bandwidth? I am so pampered with the Google video servers but I have never received a nickel from them! I am already into another PC build so a Pi server is long overdue.

Screen Shot 2019-08-22 at 10.53.11 PM.png

(Caution: Talking out my butt. The comment below is from reading, not experience)

No ISP requirements that I know of, just internet access. And the bandwidth calculation would be based on how much outbound traffic you expect to serve at one moment. 5 people watching 5 viedos in 24 hours, my guess is a 2 to 5MB upload would be more than enough, unless all 5 hit at the same moment.
100's of people watching all day long obviously needs more upload but the data will also start caching on other nodes so it will spread the load a bit too.

The IPFS also caches your videos on some nodes and allows me (others) to create a local copy of your data. Then, if it's more efficient to serve the data (closer, faster) for my IPFS to server, it takes it from my server first. Thus reducing the load on your internet connection. But it doesn't automatically replicate your data to other nodes, it does that based on how much it gets accessed.

This is my current understanding I could be wrong but not on purpose.

wow, what a hell of a post. thank you for sharing this and explaining everything. i'm happy to be a leader witness. i think you really put new life into video for me. thank you!

thank you! Good4Us

Yeah i got some videos I need to share somewhere! Signing up fosho!

Loading...

I rally love it you taking a new approach to social networking and rewarding. as you mentioned, Steem has been quite static with the model they use, while competitors around the world are trying new ways. We need to experiment with different approaches to determine what method works best to grow the service(s). I certainly will test DTube as it is now to determine if I like it. Cool it is possible for content creators to post on YouTube and have the same post at DTube! I'll be more a curator than a content creator, since I have no skills in video editing. But maybe someday, I'll try and learn more about producing videos :)

DTube enhancement Idea

Would you consider to add an extra channel to DTube? A channel which shows content in a random order? I've seen this at some other social media not related to Steem and at SteemHunt, and really like it. Such random post channel provides some additional exposure to any content creator whilst nobody is favoured. It certainly appeals to people who like to discover content of any kind, like myself and offers the opportunity for content creators to be discovered whilst not having to buy into the system with a lot of money.

Thanks! Already started my curation and engagement activities :)

Didn’t take me 25min to read but will probably take me a few days to understand 😅

I like no early user advantage and no limit on voting power (somewhat currently biased as I had to dial back a bit the last few days as i have pathetic vp and like doing min 1c votes which means higher percentage votes which runs it down faster and then eventually can’t do 1c votes anymore so time to stop), though the mega vote thing is simultaneously terrifying and a really cool sounding option 😆

Also really like the unlimited monetisation time, that’s been a thing that’s bugged me somewhat here (and on the other two platforms I’m playing on).

The voting system also sounds interesting. I think I got it but will have to watch it work to see if I did 😅

Think you may have built the kind of system I want. Now all I have to do is get to a state where I can make videos to play with it 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have read through this very carefully and have to say I like what I see. Yes it is a smart course to differ from Steem/it where there have been obvious flaws. I totally respect you for not doing a DLive as that was not good business and has tarnished that platform in my eyes.

I am proud and happy to be a part of the Dtube community, and look forward to seeing this chain grow and succeed!

If you think about it in the end, DLive and DTube almost did the same and I mean that with no disrespect but the big difference is DTube just explained all the multiple reasons why it has to leave, DLive left quickly but for the same reasons DTube is leaving it's not the action that matters it's the reason behind the move that counts, in business if you don't move quick you risk losing it all if it's too late.

DLive had to leave because the business model was killing their platform and with the jerking around with SMT's that were suppose to be released a while ago, imagine they would've stayed? It would just be a full circle jerk of bidbots. No Famous content creator from another platform would've ever gave it a chance 100% under those circumstances.

DTube has to do the same as it needs to think about it's survival and future, @heimindanger is just doing what he needs to do, to keep his platform alive and growing and as you can see he's put in a great deal of effort trying to do that, but his efforts trying to help move steemit in a better direction obviously didn't work because of the odds stacked against him.

When platforms leaving becomes a trend it's time to stop pointing fingers at the platforms and it's time to look at the corruption and bad business models making this trend happen.

I hope everything goes well with your platform @heimindanger !

Probably the only new token to come out of Steem I'm actually interested in, great job so far @heimindanger and the dtube team. Looking forward to see this evolve and looking forward to the IEO.

Indeed it was half an hour of good read.

You got me thinking here, I appreciate all of this explanation, reasoning and most of all, eye opening.

It's good to see that Dtube will still be deeply connected to Steem while addressing their own needs.

I'm all in for steem, and getting my new Dtube account linked to my steem account seems like a good move. I wish I could vote this higher but at least I can give it a resteem to my 12k followers (beat you on that one :P)

I don't understand. You are proposing small and debatable improvements, with the only major change being the fact that there is no power up. Why not use all the energy you put into Avalon to improve the Steem blockchain instead, getting voted as a witness in the meantime by doing 4 or 5 posts with updates.

Yes, STEEM was very slow and disappointed you, but the whole point (especially with the SPS) is that talented devs like you should carry it forward. If you are capable of creating a blockchain, you are certainly capable of getting us SMTs faster.

Also, I know that @ned and most people at Steemit, Inc really respect you. You could have endless discussions with them about Proof of Brain when designing SMTs, getting the features you would require for Dtube coin.

I fear that creating your own blockchain was bad for both STEEM and Dtube, and I hope that if Steemit, Inc starts working a bit faster you might come back and create an SMT one day, even help with the development of STEEM.

Yes, all people want to do is siphon rewards, and this is precisely why they will work for free on blockchain development. Once you get addicted to earnings on STEEM, you will do everything to keep the blockchain working and improve it. First build a business, then improve the blockchain. People will do this eventually wether you believe it or not.

Anyway, I’m angry we lost you and hope you come back when things get better.

Posted using Partiko iOS

 5 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

Interesting, I hadn’t thought of that. On aother note, why not create a proposal for the SPS and fix some issue you find in the blockchain code? I would be happy if you tried to syphon funds out of STEEM ;)

I am serious though

Posted using Partiko iOS

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment

I'm very happy to hear that.

I finally understand your Icon, you might actually be the real Snowball (aka Snuffels) with a huge Batteriepack on his back.

how do you get dtc tokens? i didn't get airdrop - or not that i can see anyway

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment

thanks

I am so excited about most of the points in this article but this one is my favourite:

Unlimited monetization in time
Indeed, the 7 days monetization limit has been our biggest issue for our video platform since day 8. This incentivized our users to create more frequent, but lesser quality content, as they know that they aren't going to earn anything from the 'long-haul'. Monetization had to be unlimited on DTube, so that even a 2 years old video could be dug up and generate rewards in the far future.

I can't wait for the official launch of the new DTube and DTC!

That really enables a lot of Tutorial production and educational Videos creation. Physics does not change every week :))

It was a long read but I found it extremely interesting. There are some very interesting aspects that I like a lot, such as the fact that there is no "7 days" threshold. I will definitely spend much more of my energy on dtube!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't want you to earn DTC Unless you are Human

I can see very Bright future of Dtube & Steem in this Single line :) , DTC & Steem Will definitely gonna Rock more sir 😊.

Waiting for the Day when DTC & Steem will together gonna creates Financial freedom for all of the hardworking & dedicated Steemians :) but the way the process had already been started :) .

Great, i resubscribed, good to see my one video back.

If i may suggest something, make a seperate part for music videos, youtube is killing thiscwith their youtube red service, and to much commercials

Fuck yeah. Of course I have read it. :) some of the technical stuff like always just flow over my head...but You know already I am not that clever lol so no surprises there. But a lot of the stuff You have explained it makes sense and I am happy and excited to see the version 1.0 here and the reset of DTC to come out as a phoenix and take over. Can't wait to see all the cockroachs coming and trying to get a spot as a leader to profit because i believe they will not be able to trick the community on Dtube and they will be picking people that really care about it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

88.7$ has been spent to promote this content using Steemium.
Learn more here!

Our 'D'reams 'T'oday for f'u'ture 'be' come true ! :)
GodSpeed DTube 💙 ♬

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps linear rewards can work in theory but the problem was when bots started to get involved. If you can keep the bots from being involved and make sure every vote comes from a verified individual account holder then maybe linear rewards has some meaning.

But right now on Steem linear rewards isn't working out well at all. Giving more power to minnows would work if minnows actually use it to curate the content. Content producers win if human beings can review the content rather than bidbots.

I didn't say linear rewards is the cause of the bidbots but I do think linear rewards while it had good intentions, had the opposite effect. It seemed to work in the beginning but then somehow human beings stopped curating and bots took over. With the bots now it doesn't work at all.

Linear rewards don't seem to work unless you can prove each account is human controlled and that all curation is done by actual brains and not bots. Linear rewards without KYC level verification of accounts is what led to the situation now I think. A whale could game the system before but we could see it, while now a whale can game the system in ways we cannot see it because any small account could be owned by the same whale.

Wouldn't a maximum Vote Power Cap for Steem do the same? Maybe based on the Network activity. That could break the SP Stacking in Whale Upvote Bots. Or make SP getting duller, maybe even in a logarithmic way.

I'm not going to comment on most of the information you've provided here, except to say that I appreciate the substantive information.

I do need to ask how to change the VP used to vote on Dtube, as I don't see a slider, or any mechanism that enables changing VP.

So, how do I change the VP with which I cast votes? Also, I tried to upvote tags, but every time was presented with a error message that said there was no such tag as I suggested. These things seem either broken, or so counterintuitive to use that they might as well be. I'm not particularly stupid regarding technology, but remain unable to do these things which I understand are critical to Dtube's operation. Please provide clear directions on how to change VP and upvoting/suggesting tags.

Thanks!

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks! What about the tags?

Hm, I'm not a fan of tone in this post. You basically describe different aspects of STEEM, say how bad it is and how perfect solution you have found for dtube. There are doubts, no discussion, just pure perfection of your creation ;)

One question though - where does the value of dtube token comes from?

Anyway good luck, I will be using dtube for sure :)

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment

Aye, thanks for the answer. Are you planing to run ads on dtube, where advertisers would need to buy DTC to place their banners etc.?

I have gone through the article. Some technical aspects are not too clear, hopefully, a live discussion on dtube discord channel would help clarify and simplify certain things.

From what I get, dtube might be slightly centralized, that might bother a lot of people. You also mentioned issues regarding multi-purpose blockchains and how they are not scalable in the long, so my questions regarding this are:

Is there a chance in the nearest future that dtube might break from steem? What measures are been put in place that it remains financially viable?.

Some of the guidelines in the new steemit delegation scheme necessitates that any project requiring delegations from steemit should work on steem blockchain and that is not the direction dtube is moving towards. So peradventure dtube loses its delegation, how does it plans to incentivize content creation because that's the main reason most vloggers use the platform and its decentralized nature.

Asides an ICO, what other means is dtube planning on generating revenue to run their platform?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for explaining things. I think I get a better picture now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Didn't read all of this but I learned few things about STEEM system while reading. I agree with many of the weaknesses. Since DTube is going to be its own blockchain I'm interested in how this will play out.

I don't want you to earn DTCs unless you are human.

👏👏👏 Death to the bidbots! This is the best thinking I've seen on these topics. I was failing to understand some of the aspects of the new DTube so this was very helpful for me. This makes me even happier to have the weedcash version of DTube. Thanks for this update. I will be following very closely.

U know who u remind me of...
8943ABEE-D138-4574-8EF2-E6E3A964A4DE.jpeg
I always hear his voice now
whenever I read ur comments
I used to think he was cool
now the sound just makes me...
want to vomit! 🤢
so squeaky and clean...
that is he
oh poor altcoin...
Jesus!
lol
omg
!
All I am saying is this is who you remind me of! For some odd reason, i don’t know
Like the guy from the show “Bones!”
That is all!
back to work for me
see ya soon
just wanted to let u know
I was just thinking about ya!
k

OMG earth to the bidbots, Richard Dick You are one big hypocrite! lol

Screen Shot 2019-07-23 at 9.01.52 AM.png

While Avalon doesn't technically have author rewards, the first-voter advantage is strong, and the author has the advantage of always being the first voter, so the author can still earn from his potentially original creations, he just needs to commit some voting power on his own contents to be able to publish.

I think this is very ingenious. Does the voting power of the first voter influence the amount of rewards that an author receives later on?

That's not 25 minutes but i will admit to glossing over the parts i didn't understand. So 4 minutes later.......

I can see where you're coming from and a lot of it is good. One of the biggest for me was a part i saw in the original post and had talked about for a long time which was the payout window for serious creators. Especially video creators who post content that could last for years. It was a serious drawback to the old system.

I hope it works out for you and will be following with interest to see how this new chain and new approach works out.

Wow this is going to be bigger that I expect. Although I didn't understand everything I found this a great read and loved the way you have thrown the established rules on their head and reinvented a more
tailored, humane Blockchain. In particular I like the continuing monetization which I sure will be of grea interest to established content creators and the cat and mouse game to combat bots.
Wishing you and all of us success with this.

That's a very impressive and thorough outline. I login via Steem because trying to create an actual Dlive account wasn't working. I'd create an account and either the Name or Password would not work.

They are two different platforms. Two separate logins.

Dlive: https://dlive.tv/

WOW THIS IS A LOT OF INFO! But dam very well laid out. Thanks @heimindange I'm going to do my best to understand this. Much respect.

@steemium purchased a 50.87% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Is this another currency?

Don't understand probably 80% of the techie stuff in article. But safe to say wherever Dtube goes I will definitely Follow :)

Seems like a pretty solid setup. The mega upvote might lead to less spreading of power as people save up to vote on only their content. Is there any system in place to stop this?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much for this thourough explanation, I have read it once, and will have to read it a few times more to process it all, stay awesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

Also you see contributions to STEEM as waste of time... how?!?! Your investment?? Your coin. Invest more and make it better

Posted using Partiko iOS

While Avalon doesn't technically have author rewards, the first-voter advantage is strong, and the author has the advantage of always being the first voter, so the author can still earn from his potentially original creations, he just needs to commit some voting power on his own contents to be able to publish.

i am lost with this one. so there is no author rewards and only thing author earns is his own vote? i feel i got this wrong, or at least i hope i got it wrong.

sorry i am lost with this. so i vote 1dtc on my content, and then i have 10 votes after mine that are all upvotes , what are my earnings on that other upvotes?

so i theory (removing downvotes) as long as someone is voting on something, everybody that voted before get a part of it?

over my brain thing. i will just have to see it in work.

thanks for trying.

I really tried to read it all... i was very interested to begin with and liked a few things.
Also i appreciate that you put a lot of time and thought into it.

However as I read through it I realized this is a huge test, maybe even a big long shot... and so I probably didn't finish it. Not because I don't respect you for trying to shoot for the moon with something different. But because it really is a wild theoretical experiment with little basis in anything else done. Which is part of your excitement I get it... you're seeing yourself as pioneering. While many of us are just like... welll I guess we'll see how long this lasts.

You also kinda threw the baby out with the bathwater with the steem system and didn't really chat about what helped it last for years even with it's flaws. I would have liked to see a bit more of that.

POB stuff I'm seeing on steem-engine is rampant with some big issues of creators printing themselves tons of money for doing something that is Crazy easy. Scot systems are not hard at all so makes it just too easy to create a low level white paper and people seem to excuse the creators for giving themselves 10%+ of the pie of a potential economy that needs so much more work on economic stability.

You didn't mention too much of your economic model. Maybe it's somewhere else.
But best of luck to you i suppose. It's not terribly interesting to me on the theoretical area, but i will be watching in the practical area. And maybe i'll bookmark this paper and re-read it when my brain isn't fried this late.

Anyone can sell anything at the Price he wants, as long as there is someone to buy it. We make up the Value of things all the time in our lives. The Scot Systems and the Steem-Engine are just a technical and easy way to make the transactions. You just need to understand the Tinkerbell Effect.
Maybe this Video will help you:

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment

WOW! I'm impressed at just the time and thought you've put into that whitepaper!!
Holy crap if steem-engine pob tokens even put in 10% that ammount of time maybe they'd have something solid instead of creating economically unstable systems that will get them into hot water by rewarding themselves tons of money and use a 50/50 curation system to keep their money continuosly outpacing everyone else.

With that said i'm still presently more a fan in the steem system... but i'll try to read through what you wrote and see what elements seem nice.

Congratulations @heimindanger!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 8 with 1258 upvotes
  • Comments - Ranked 3 with 72 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 174,93

This is definitely really interesting and you know that I'm already on board and will continue to upvote. Does this mean the DTC's are now not in "test" mode?

Is there a minimum buy-in for the IEO? And when will it begin?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks man!

Highly rEsteemed!

Ned Bacon Here.png

This all sounds reasonable, and well thought out. Good luck as you continue to develop dtube. Its good that you are continuing to support STEEM, and still growing out in your own way at the same time with your own unique chain.

O'Right!
I just finished reading the article, now I will read ALL the comments, let just upvote this real quick before :))

Thank you for doing a hell of a job with your project. Will the double login issue go away once you migrate off of the STEEM blockchain?
Will DTCs be available for purchase?
I still continue getting errors on mobile browsers with "error private posting key" when attempting to do the DTube login.
No issues on mobile browsers with STEEM log in.
Ideas?

Posted using Partiko Android

The earned DTC on the Testnet will be deleted and you Airdrop again with the V1.0, right?

Yes, I tried using both private posting and the private active key with no success.
I'll try again with the keys on the .txt file.
Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is all pretty great, seriously.
However, I just want to be able to post 5 tags again. I hate not being able to post in multiple tribes at once because of this.

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment

Hahaha if tags stay the same I’ll still use DTube, it’s the best video option on Steem by far

I like this article very well because there is a lot to learn in this article

Congratulations @heimindanger! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout on one day

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Innnteresting. I really like this voting/rewards model and am eager to see how it plays out. Almost makes me wish I was more interested in video in general.

There are 2 pages
Pages