A Permaculture Apple Day of Skill and Produce Sharing at our Homestead

in #dtube6 years ago


I am beginning a 10 week series on DTube where at the start of every week I will upload one of my favorite homesteading/permaculture videos from my YouTube channel. Very soon I am going to begin uploading my YouTube videos a week before on DTube with the hope of bringing more people to join this awesome community on Steemit. 

(To view this week's video on DTube, click here)

I thought I would start this series with a video I created about a Permaculture Apple Day we had on our homestead in Wales a couple of summers ago. We are a part of Lampeter Permaculture Group which has just over 50 members and once a year someone will host an apple day. 

This is a fantastic event because members are encourage to bring their apples and we will have 3-4 presses going so at the end of the day everyone will have apple juice to take back home along with all the skills they’ve learnt.

 

There is something so incredible about watching the fresh apple juice gush from the press, and when you taste it...well no other apple juice compares. We pressed cider, dessert and cookers that day because why not? I will admit that I am a bit of a fan of eating cooking apples, probably because they are bigger and slightly bitter.
Including children, we had about 30 people take part in the event and it was an absolute buzz of conversation. We were blessed with some lovely weather as well as delicious food. 

Once a month we will have a workday at a member’s house and we all bring food to contribute for a shared lunch. It is very powerful having such a productive and satisfying day without the exchange of money. The real exchange is through learning and teaching and building strong connections with like-minded people. 

The nutshell process of making apple juice:

  • Cut small apples into halves and bigger apples into quarters
  • Half fill a bucket and use a clean fence post to smash them up/or use a device called an apple scratter
  • Place the apple mush into an apple press
  • Turn the handle and watch the juice pour into a container
  • Bottle this up and either drink within 2 days, turn it into cider or pasteurize
  • Repeat (a very important step)

I noticed that it was the children who were having the greatest fun, they couldn’t stop drinking the fresh juice and absolutely loved using the fence post to bash up apples. Some kids do have a destructive streak in them, so why not get them bashing up apples? I know from experience that I enjoyed doing the bashing.


For this video I interviewed Angie Polkey who is a permaculture teacher and a big part of the permaculture movement, particularly in Wales. I hope you enjoy it and that it inspires you to get a load of people together and create a strong group.

What I really value about being in the permaculture group is the diversity of people, be it their age, background or interests. It is always so refreshing to go to one of the events and feel that shared energy of purpose and drive as well as being in a very caring environment. I regret not doing more with the group, and this year I will strive to make more meetings. 

And so here we the end product of a day of pressing. Remember that there was also plenty of juice consumed before it actually reached the bottling stage. Everyone enjoyed having their own juice to take home and it is such a rewarding project because you have had the hands on experience with turning a load of apples into an abundance of delicious apple juice.

Here are some more video topics which will be appearing over the next coming weeks on this series:

  • Scything and haymaking by hand
  • How to apply and reapply mulch effectively
  • Using hay and grass in the garden
  • Keeping pigs for less
  • Building healthy soil for the garden over winter


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

My son will absolute love smashing up apples. He’s one of those destructive kids 😁 I’m trying to find ways to put all of that chaotic destructive energy to food use! I’m a part of permaculture meetup on my area. There are so many abandoned orchards around here that can be harvested and turned into some great cider and sauce. This is a great idea for a meet up, thanks for sharing!

That is great, definitely get him involved ;) Food use and good use I think! Yes definitely get a load of people to make the most of the abandoned orchards because they are such a lovely resource that need a little love

Brilliant as always Huw!

Excellent video Huw.

Listening to Angie does make permaculture sound like a very close fit with the ideals of steem... or is it the other way round?

Thank you! I will have to say it is the other way round being as permaculture originated many decades ago ;) I believe Steem is a perfect fit for the principles, however many permaculturlists are strict against any monetary currency. I do think Steem would be in favour of a vast majority :)

I don't really live in apple country, but have a fond memory of watching this exact process when I was in New England as a kid.

I think posting old YouTube videos on dTube is a great experiment and I'm happy to join you in that! Thanks for the idea, Huw :)

~ Kevin

Hi Kevin thank you very much for the comment! Yes good luck with it, it will be interesting to see the response :) Best wishes

What a brilliant initiative I wish the North was more like the South!

I could easily drink the cider ha ha

Well I am sandwiched in the middle so South to you but not south south ;)

Ahh me and my partner were doscuasing this we class Aberwysyth or lower as South. Brecon is 100% South to us but we think its actually classed as mid we think?

Yes that is the line. Machynlleth have the northwalian accent and Llandeilo starts getting quite southwalian. Brecon could be south or mid it depends who's saying haha

Yeah Brecon is the no mans land a bit! One of my favourite places to visit though!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stace from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.