My 2018 goals as a YouTuber on Steemit

in #dtube6 years ago

After such a warm welcome from my #introducemyself post and a bit of exploring I am certainly excited about getting into the flow of Steemit.

On my YouTube channel I will often set myself goals. One of my first goals was to reach 100 subscribers (Now 71,036). Another was to reach 1 million views and now that I have 11 million views my goal is to reach 100 million. But Being in quite a niche topic (organic vegetable gardening) it will probably take many years to get there. And who knows, @dtube might actually be the primary video platform by then?

I am sure that many of you are aware as to the reasons behind YouTubers coming to Steemit, the ‘adpocalypse’ caused carnage on the platform, but I have been experiencing declining ad rates for a few years which is why I am looking at releasing an online gardening course in October to diversify my income from the platform. But for now my focus is to continue creating content every week to help people grow their own food at home inexpensively. 

@Pennsif is the reason why I am here today, he told me about a social network which was friendly and supported both the authors and curators through a cryptocurrency. What a wonderful idea? Whilst all the time being able to interact with people across the world. I really look forward to following a lot of people, particularly in the homesteading tag.

So what are my goals for Steemit in 2018?

Upload a video 7 days before it goes on YouTube

To encourage more people to join Steemit I will be announcing on YouTube and Facebook that my videos will be uploaded to @dtube 7 days prior to release on YouTube. Hopefully my audience will then realise that there are many other homesteading channels and join in the fun.

1000 Followers by the End of the Year

I have no idea with what to expect with Steemit so I will aim for 1000 and see how close I can get to it. This number is down do me making sure I interact and post quality content that you will hopefully enjoy consuming or take away useful information and ideas

Upload high quality posts 5 times a week

This will include 1-2 videos in @dtube and then posts about gardening, permaculture and homestead projects as well as the occasional post of social media experimentation for example sharing results of commenting on 200 instagram posts a day for a week. I think this could lead to interesting discussion and hopefully help you build your following

And for now I am going to stick with those 3 goals. 

I don’t want to post too many and lose focus from my other initiatives, my primary aim is to just get into it and enjoy the experience. I am very grateful to @pennsif for offering a bit of a chat on Monday the 15th of Jan to help me with fully understanding Steemit. He has been a huge help!

I really am enjoying the community so far and I look forward to being a part of it.

- Image of our vegetable garden in early summer 2017


Sort:  

Great goals. I second @goldendawne, 1,000 followers should come pretty easily for you. I've started from absolute scratch and should be up to 200 by the end of the month, less than 3 months in to actively posting.

Posting on steemit/dtube 7 days before YT is a great idea. It shows that you are really committed to the platform. You have my support!

Thank you very much @theferalone, that is an incredible achievement! I will let you know in 3 months time what I will have learnt about that dtube idea. Best wishes

Welcome to steemit @huwsnursery! I've seen many of your YouTube videos. I think it's awesome that a young man like yourself is into homesteading in permaculture!I I'm glad you decided to join this platform! Following you for sure

Thank you so much for the welcome @hopfarmnc I am really glad I have joined too! I look froward to following what you get up to as well

GREAT plans you have! And getting 1k in followers will come before you know it!

Your garden last year looked so beautiful!!! Love the tri-pod growing structure.I have plans for ones similar this year

Awh thank you so much @goldendawne! It is good fun :) I hope it goes well!

Nice touch posting videos on DTube seven days prior to YouTube. That will help educate and bring more people across.

The other advantage of this approach is that you can actually reward your viewers (financially) who leave (non spammy) comments - something you can't currently do on YouTube.

I'll be following your blog closely as I have ambitions to grow my veg garden in here in Wales over the coming year. Looking forward to learning some tips!

Thank you very much. I shall be trailing it for a couple of months and then do a review post. Yes it is a hugely amazing factor! Oh that is wonderful and I hope it goes well

Hi @huwsnursery, to help folks coming in from YT understand and adapt to steemit a few folks got together to create a "First week" on what and what not to do here and how to stay safe. This is the last one done (so far) but links to all of them are in this link: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@mericanhomestead/day-10-steemit-the-foreign-country-for-those-getting-here-from-yt-steem-wallet

May your journey here to this awesome steemit community be a joy!

Great goals there Huw.

Looking forward to getting together on Monday.

10,000+ will be easy for you by year's end. What percent of those are actual people who care about gardening is up in the air, as steemit is a bit... different, to say the least, in who people follow and why. Best of luck to you here, there does seem to be more than a few already on the site who take a heavy interest in farming and learning about ways to be, how should I put it, independent of the grid.

welcome to Steemit @huwsnursery

You're going to love it here!

As everyone has said, great goals. :)
Some of your followers may resist change, but that is the nature of the beast. Stick it out through any grumbling. (You may get 100% support anyway, which would be fantastic!)

I have missed your videos of late - I know it is winter there, though, so can't wait until you're back in the spring - but sadly that will mean it is autumn here. Ah well, lol.

Thank you! I don't mind if they resist change because at the time being they will still be getting the same from me on YouTube :) But I really think a lot of my community will like Steemit. Thank you, I have quite a few planned and one currently being edited :)

Welcome to steemit, sounds like an awesome plan.

People of steemit love contests and challenges, perhaps you can help get more of us gardening.

Those are good goals for your first year on Steemit. It will be interesting to your views on the differences between the two platforms (YT and Steemit) after a while. To me, it seems like YouTube provides long-term income and great capacity for people to find you through search. On Steemit, it seems a lot more like building a community of people is more important. And, people who have enough Steem Power to actually make their upvotes count for something.

One year to get 1000 followers...no problem, you got this! Your goal settings a realy amazing. I'll have to really watch your blog, l have this feeling we can learn a lot from you.

Thanks for coming over to Steemit.

Folowing for sure now!