DTube Videos Not Playing

in #dtube7 years ago

Hello Steem Fam,

I would like to first say that as a newbie to the Steemit family, I could not be more excited for what the future holds. With our on going growth of distrust in our world leaders and fiat money, Crypto currencies offer a sense of stability in a world flooded with worthless green coloured paper.

Most of us using these alternative platforms are very much so aware of the injustice that has been done against the masses by a select few (aka the 1%). Every opportunity we get to break away from the system and move closer to becoming "off grid", we jump at with the hopes of not missing the last train out of Crazy Town. Wether it be a crypto currency, DTube, Minds or any other replacement to our mainstream sources, more and more people are waking up and opting out for more freedom and less restrictions.

With all that said I successfully started up my DTube account and had no issues at all uploading my videos. However, the videos will not play. Ive looked at other articles about DTube issues but the other issues came with a message of error. My videos simply do nothing when I press play..

Has anyone else encountered this problem? I would really appreciate the help.

Thank you

Ibata11

Sort:  

I've uploaded a video 2 days ago, I uploaded a video, and now I wanted to watch it it didnt work it says its either the network connection or the servers failed, or the video is in an unsupported format but I wouldnt be able to upload it if it wasnt bcz it didnt allow avi so I changed it to flv and it took it, so yeah and the network connection cant be it either bcz I can watch other videos on the platform. And I have recently seen appearently one hour ago the same video has been uploaded which has appearently 3.2k likes even though it can play either and it shows the earned currency as DTC and not dollars like the other one does.

We're having the same problem. Have you solved it?

Having the same problem. I'd been away from DTube for a bit & when I came back, most of the videos that used to play are no longer playing.

"The media could not be loaded, either because the servers or network failed or because the format is not supported."

I found a solution and I know why your old videos aren't working.

It is the fault of ipfs since it will only load newer videos. The best way to fix it is to watch your video from ipfs it will take a long time to load but afterwards the video should work.

I'm totally new here - how does that work, watching your video from 'ipfs' ... ? My daughter has uploaded a couple of her animations videos and she's getting that same error. :/

From your Steemit blog post that is associated with the relevant video, near the bottom of the post there should be > DTube on one line and > IPFS on the next. Click the IPFS one and go fix yourself a sandwich or something. It will take a while.

I just got that too.

I am not a tech savy but it seems to me that the problem lies in the loading/rendering. It takes me atleast 5min+ to get a response from the video and it doesn't matter which browser I am using. Whatever it is, it's rather annoying.

same problem here :/ the only thing I can think off is that since this is such a new platform, there are a lot bugs, we kind of just have to roll with the punches guys :)

Don't know why the submit button does not work on Dtube. Everything uploaded successfully, got the 2 green check marks but for some reason it will not submit. What's the deal?

From what I've read DTube works similar to torrents, but a little differently. Videos are stored on users' nodes (computers), not on servers as with YouTube and similar services. Your video is initially only stored on your node until someone else watches it. That's why after you "upload" a video you are presented with a page that tells you to keep it open to seed your video. You're not actually uploading your video, you are uploading the file metadata to the network. Once someone else watches your video it is stored on their node, but only temporarily. If a lot of people watch a video and others continue to watch it, you and other people will have no problem accessing it. If no one watches a video for a while, it will end up being automatically deleted from all nodes and no longer available. You can also pay someone to "pin" your video to their node.

If this is true, this is a serious blow to decentralized independent media. The monopolies win again.

We can't win them all..

I dont know. I guess 95% of youtube view time is on the trending videos. So that should work fine then.

There's a lot more going on in the world and to a lot of people outside of what is "trending". Usually what is "trending" sucks big time.

only for the moment. This kind of stuff takes a long time to catch on, and with internet architecture centralization is efficient even if not desire-able

That is some fkd up shit.

thanks for the explanation, I was thinking that could have been the reason. Is a pity to think on how much future decentralization would have with these limits, so only popular videos would be able to be online (?) I really hope the future holds the solution for this technical limitations otherwise centralized services like youtube would keep being the king of online videos.. :(

my videos are not playing too what is the problem? how can i fix it ?

I guess they are working out the bugs. I have trouble from time to time as well. Any solutions?

Months gone by and ... Still the same problem. I just uploaded 3 videos, one 4 min. vid is OK. 2 longer vids -->
"The media could not be loaded, either because the server or network failed or because the format is not supported."
There is a Dtube sub reddit adressing the problem:

but it is set to PRIVATE !
Any new ideas ?

Its totally fkd up. I tried 4 months ago fkd up as well. Vids wont play, no spell ck,can't set show on nsfw. Wtf i wanna watch normal ppl fkn, not ho's taken large cock its disgusting. I just wanna watch regular fkn!

been getting this problem for the last week now.. damn