Youtube's 2018 Policy; Imminent Migration From Youtube to Dtube

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

A possible migration of many content creators from youtube to dtube is about to happen, following the new 2018 YouTube policy which has been released.

Dtube.png
Source

youtube.png
Source

In one of the statements, Paul Muret, vice president of display, video and analytics, reveals a drastic change that will mostly affect small YouTuber's in the quote below

"The challenges we faced in 2017 have helped us make tough but necessary changes in 2018."
Channels at YouTube will need to have at least 1,000 subscribers and 4,000 hours of watch time within the past year to be eligible for ads. Source


In the coming days, weeks and months, it wouldn't be surprising to see a massive exodus of content creators from youtube to d.tube. Let's face it! No one would like to work without earning a decent reward. We can't wait for dtube's mobile android app to be launched! See latest developments made to the dtube app version 0.6.

What @maryfavour Is Doing In Response To This News

I am capitalizing on this news to marketing dtube to any author on youtube who has made a video about the new Youtube policy change. Here is an example below of what I did on Amie Mariah's channel. Proof of marketing (POM). Lol.

Amie Mariah.PNG.
Source: screenshot from Amie's youtube channel.


Follow @maryfavour


What are your thoughts on the 2018 Youtube policy and it's likely impact on dtube?


Thank you for reading my blog!

Sort:  

I started a week ago:)
Already transferred 12 videos from Youtube to Dtube .killing/closing my YT Chanel @
and made Promo video for Dtube
Here it is if you like to see it.

Great to know that you started your migration a week ago, @olegw. As a small player who has never really earned on youtube, I am calling out to both big and small content creators there to join d.tube. I'll go check out that video of yours. Thanks for the link and your support.

Feel free to use it in your promotion :)

🗅

Well, I wouldn't know why they are shooting themselves in the foot. One would have thought that by now youtube will be looking for ways to keep content creators and not to open the door for them to leave. Anyway, now that the gap has been created, youtube will pay a costly price,(losing them to dtube) in my opinion.

You are doing great job @maryfavour for promoting dtube to potential dtube content creators...

Thank you, @hms818! I appreciate it.

Yep... I got the email this morning about my channel. It really makes me sad because I've always been able to monetize my videos. Looks like DTube will be my new home.

The news is not welcomed well by many, @xhodan. So, let Dtube be your new home. Why not?

Add me to the list. The minute I received the email I deleted my videos and closed my youtube channel. Any future videos of mine are going to dtube!

I think due to change of policy by youtube many small youtubers will come to other platform like dtube. The policy change will make hard for small youtubers who are posting original content but not getting eniugh views.

I don't know why youtube change their policy but it will make difficult for new youtubers to make money. And in few years Youtube will face strong competition from other sites like dtube.

It's a matter of time, I think dtube will break the ground soon. It's really improving and doing great

It's a matter of time, I think dtube will break the ground soon

I can't wait for this to happen, @teslim. Steem on!

I have also gone to do this on some youtube channels i used to watch. lol.

Great @turpsy! It's good to know that you are doing the same marketing job. Cheers!

I have not been on dtube, I’m new to steemit. Does my Steem Power apply to dtube the same as steemit?

I’ve never been a blogger or a Vlogger and I’m trying to develop my niche here on steemit because I believe this has huge potential to take off. I’m wondering if I should get on dtube...

Also, I bought STEEM at $6 and $3, roughly.. when is this rocket ship to the moon set to launch!?

@greenroom, thank you for your comments and welcome to steemit

Does my steam power apply to the tube the same as steemit?

My response to your question would be that YouTube is an app that is built on the steem blockchain. So steemit and dtube basically have the same reward pool. Whatever it is that you post on youtube, it appears on steemit and you're able to earn rewards (steem / steem dollars). Please note: 25% of your pay out would be deducted and that goes to dtube.
Just do your best to develop your niche and join existing communities. It will pay off at the end of the day.

So if you bought steem tokens at $6 and now they are selling for $3, my response to that will be just to HOLD/HODL them as steem power. For now, don't bother about when the rocket ship is going to moonAs a newbie, I think you should focus on the value you are providing for the community. That is what will be rewarded. Cheers.

Oh, @maryfavour, I have thoughts on this! I have plenty of thoughts:
https://steemit.com/youtube/@gamingstation/new-youtube-monetization-requirements-are-they-fair-or-plain-bullshit

Summing it up, this is really bad for new users and once again helps the YouTube top celebrities. YouTube is going big boys club from now on, until it stops seeing new talent.

Really bad move on them.

I read your post and saw how you really poured out your heart. This decision that youtube has made to demonitize new players and allow the big boys club will hunt them pretty soon. Keep steeming!

Absolutely. YouTube needs some true competition to deliver some honest, fair improvements, not what they are doing right now. We can only hope DTube and others will do the trick.

Keep up the great work, @maryfavour.

You are really talking sense, in the next few years, i'm confident if Dtube, works toward making a good pay for creators, there is no doubt they will overcome Youtube. The competition has just begun, it's now left for Dtubers to tighten their belts and make the dream come true. I LOVE STEEMIT.

@maryfavour, I can't believe, it's not fair to small youtuber's. It must be discouraging for them to hear something like this... :(

it's not fair to small youtuber's

Well, dear @stella98, what is not fair to some might be okay for others. Moreover, my expectation is for dtube to capitalize on this news to attract those small youtubers.

after that policy change people would defintely move to dtube

Huge migration is coming but with that new challenges too get opened

thanks for sharing about this i was not aware about it dtube got the perfect chance to capture the opportunity

I just hope this migration will not only increase SBD but it will also increase the knowledge that it takes a community to build. I don't have a problem with YouTubers coming here (me being a YTer myself) as long as they have the mindset to BUILD.

Hope they also add support for porting Youtube videos over just like Vid.me used to be able to - linking and uploading already uploaded videos to this service. Might make the migration easier.

For the number of times I have used dtube, it's never been a problem for me to upload videos already uploaded to my youtube. Hopefully, this helps. Please, let me know if it does or better still visit dtube's discord server and ask all your questions there. Keep steeming!

So you. .. upload the same file you used from YouTube? Or somehow hashed and passed the YouTube video url to Dtube?

I love Dtube more than youtube :P is there anyone along with me ?

Sure, I am with you @learner365 😊. Cheers.

When one door closes another opens ... the pains of Youtube becomes the gains of Dtube. A massive migration of content creators to Dtube is to the benefits of us all as a community. Steemit is it!

the pains of Youtube becomes the gains of Dtube.

I like the play of words . Good to note this. Exactly it would be all to our benefit. Keep steeming!

One day Dtube will be like YouTube,

Dtube would be better than youtube. @flora.lori. This is my belief.

This is a goodnews to steemit.com as this will bring a boost and massive traffic to the website because to have a dtube account, you must have a steemit account as well, so this is a plus to steemit.com.

THANK YOU MADAM FOR SHARING THE INFO.

This is a bizzare policy change. I hope people find better place for monetization.

A real bizzare one, @myscribe.

I hope people find better place for monetization

We'll I hope so too. That is why dtube is here.

I'm a very small time player on YouTube, but I will be migrating my limited content for sure! Its not having any of it!

Karl.

Do so ASAP, @revisesociology. You can still be uploaded content there, but make sure to publish it to dtube too. Steem on!

now that is quite hard to start fresh on youtube

Yes, It is going to be very hard to earn as a beginner on youtube, @cutiepie.