You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discussing Steemit With Managing Director Elizabeth Powell

in #dtube5 years ago

Don't get me wrong. When I say ban, I don't mean ban in the same way that it would work on a centralized platform. Steemit doesn't have the power to ban anyone in that way, and that's why it could never become like Facebook or Youtube. What I mean is that on THEIR frontend, they could moderate content. This is actually the reason all accounts have upvotes and downvotes, as well as it being the purpose of them.

Because of the way Steem is distributed, there is an "untouchable" class of abusers, that effectively the community can't moderate. Only Steemit could. The EIP is created to help with this problem, but as I mentioned before, Steemit is the only set of accounts that could effectively fight this abuse in the current system or possibly even after the EIP. Banning in the same way as a centralized platform is currently impossible here, as it should be.

Sort:  

To me that just seems to be a function of Steem and in that way it is like an anarchy. I'd support it at least for moderating plagarism. The problem with moderation for like you know who, there really aren't any community guidelines