My ever solo wild camp, on a boggy hill!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Last Monday, with the weather looking unusually mild for the time of year, I headed up a mountain called Beinn Inverveigh, to an altitude of 550m, and set up camp for the night.
This had been a plan for some time. I'm doing my Mountain Leader course, and in order to pass, I need to have done at least four nights of wild camping.
I have wild camped with other people before, but never on my own. I thought I'd find it too spooky - but actually it really wasn't scary at all.
It wasn't the most comfortable night I've ever spent, but I did get a few hours' sleep, and I wasn't too cold. It was an amazing adventure, and actually one I can't wait to repeat!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 414 (02/28/19)

Well, my friend, it takes some courage to go out there alone. But, sometimes we need to do things which scare us the most. That view, in the end, was amazing. Such a beautiful view. I can see why you love hiking and camping. Nothing like waking up in nature on fresh air. Plus hats of to you for picking stuff after yourself. Many people do not do it...

Thank you for sharing your solo adventure with us. I am happy you were able to upload it to Dtube. :)

Thanks for your comments @awakentolife. It does feel good to step outside your comfort zone now and again! And yes, the views...

The views... were amazingggg.. :) I am sure it feels good to be out there even though it was a bit scary at some point. But as we saw it seems worth it no doubt. :)

That cooking device of yours looked heavy until your hands close to it put it in perspective. Its a mini device I can see now. Still think your nuts doing this in February, it could snow next week.

It's a teensy wee thing, that Primus stove, and the gas canisters are very light - 125ml. The trickiest challenge is to balance the mess tin on top of it.
It probably will snow next week - that's why I did this during the mild spell :) My ML assessment is due at the end of April, and it could conceivably snow until then, so I need to get those wild camping nights in while I can!
Oh - and thanks for the minnow support!

Oh - and thanks for the minnow support!

Its a free vote, I give it away sometimes especially to people who deserve more than they get.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=natubat
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=u1grnhgf


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.