What is Overkillcoin?! Animated cryptocurrency/altcoin parody

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

This is an animation I made back in 2014. I was shell-shocked by the madness of worthless alts popping up and it's only gotten crazier :D

I took a break from crypto for two whole years - but Steemit is what brought me back.


Writing, Art, Animation, Voice
@overkillcoin (on steemit) @overkillcoin_jr (on twitter)

Mixed by Nick Standing
youtube.com/user/HurpADervish
https://soundcloud.com/jabun

♫ Monkeys Spinning Monkeys ♫
Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/b...

Sound Effects
Most are from soundrangers.com
Others were legitimately purchased a long time ago from somewhere

Freesound.org
Till With Bell.wav by Benboncan

Soundbible.com:
Helicopter-Approach by Mike Koenig
Crickets by Mike Koenig
Fireplace - Public Domain
Scary chain saw - Public Domain


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Tips? btc: 19Eni6NvDm7xdBRutXibf7CnDrs79dozkD

Sort:  

THIS IS SOOOOO COOOL. You are so ahead of the times! I'm voting on this at the 30 minute mark cuz it's going to go BIIIIIIIGGGGGLY.

Nice times. China bans ICOs today.

Stella! We need you! To get this fantastic content by @overkillcoin some traction! Where art thou promisèd upvote @stellabelle?! :)

Well, maybe ICOs need to ban China then!

Thanks for your support @stellabelle, I think it's possible to rise up from my crypto-ashes XD

This has got to go viral!

Oh it will go viral, but only after the payout window closes and I can no longer benefit... Lolzzzzz XD

:( I hope not.

Hopefully the video is just a piece of a nice puzzle :D It's always a honor to be the FIRST crypto comedian EVAR :) :) :)

Marry me!

Hiya there! XD

Oh, you'd get bored of me in like 15 minutes haha...

Simply fantastic!!!

Thanks so much, @d-pend! Seems I should have waited a day longer to launch this, being a holiday in the States and all...

Catch you later, my poetic doge XD

Ahhhh, right, that's why Steemit feels like even more of a ghost town than it usually is... I forget because I don't usually celebrate holy dazes unless i'm coerced.. =D

I hope this post still gets some traction somehow... It really is super well made, hilarious, and hits the nail on the head with all of these shit alt-coins, lol

Maybe some big name friends will re-steem it, I think that's possible...

Yeah, screw hell-a-days XD

This was actually my first post, made 4 cents in mid June... so it's an improvement!

hahaahah! this is really funny! and i love where the funds should go.. supporting depressed unicorns! lol

So as you can see, originally overkillcoin was a worthless coin with no real purpose .

It's existence was pointless or "overkill"...

I could have named myself something else but I felt I could be known as the guy who made that video....

Overkill is a catchy name though. And also, i forgot to mention the the voice over was really nice and funny too! you wouldn't feel bored watching the video the entire time. You got a real talent here OKC! ;)

Thank you, thank you... Hope to do similar videos, but a lot simpler... that one took way too much work!!

Amazing! Not only was I laughing the whole entire time I watched but the quality is just blow you away crazy good! Sharing with friends off platform! So glad I caught @acidyo resteeming your custom made logo/GIF yesterday and now have access to all of your fabulous work!

Aww thanks so much @sarahsayjay, I'm so glad to hear this from you! :)

Yep, I shouldnt have gone underground for so long, but I'm back, right?

Take care!

More than the video, I'd like to know what spawned all of that work. At what point was someone fed up and said "omg, we totally have to make this video"

The backstory to the video, like on Blue Ray with the director interview and special features you get in the menu.. I'd like to know why Overkillcoin was created, and as much as I can.

It was a great video, that it was about time someone made it. It really did show off your team's talents too.

That could be another post, worth of more upvotes. Some education too.

I don't have too much to say haaha... I have a post from mid June that shows a lot of the art in illustrator, but that's more technical...

It's been shameful to drop out of the race and miss out on so much... I really don't want to rehash too much of that...

I'll think about it though - thanks!!!

Well I was around when that video hit youtube. It took everyone by surprise. It's one of those nice projects that now becomes a classic and great for your portfolio.

Thanks @intelliguy - I may revisit my history at some point, right now thinking about the past kinda trips me up XD

Take care guy!

Timeless classic!

Thank you... how I miss those days!!! :O

Cool . Thanks for share this @overkillcoin

Congratulations @overkillcoin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!