You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discussing Steemit With Managing Director Elizabeth Powell

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

Is this something Steemit can fix? Is this not more of a problem with Steem? What power does Steemit have to police plagiarism any different from Busy.org or D.Tube? Let me do say though, I absolutely do not support plagiarism nor am I okay with it. Considering the more users that join, the more they spend on servers, and they had to lay off 70% off their staff before, I think it's fair to presume the ad revenue is what would fund their company quite humbly in my opinion. Use Brave browser if you want to avoid ads and earn BAT ;)

Sort:  

Since they have BY FAR the most stake, they could downvote the worst offenders. A 1% downvote from the @steemit account would have the weight of a little over $7. They could hire an intern to sweep away the garbage from trending once a day.

Currently not only is there no danger from abusing the system in this way, it's PROFITABLE in most cases.

They could also just completely dump their current trending page and instead use posts voted on from curation guilds. This would be a band-aid and not a solution, but it would be better than the current situation. It's what Steempeak.com does, but it would be a lot more powerful and beneficial to the blockchain and their bottom line to do it here since this is where all the traffic is. This would also make bidbots as a form of promoting posts less attractive and help with that situation.

They could fix their built in post promotion feature, by having promoted posts show up on trending(assuming they didn't do the last idea) This of course wouldn't be able to compete with Bidbots, but again they could just ban bidbots, by using their stake to flag posts that reach the top of trending through those means. They don't need to track down every single plagiarist, just make sure it's not on the front page.

Absolutely some really awesome suggestions here, maybe I can get an interview with someone in engineering and theoritically go through implementing user suggested changes and why they could or couldn't do it.

you-must-be-new-here-willy-wonka.jpg

j/k I couldn't help myself. But yea, that would be great if you could make it happen. Good luck!

You tell me! I don't have time for an interview right now. I've written plenty about what I see as current problems, offered potential solutions as well.

With the coming hardfork, if it goes through, I can see some of these issues going away. With any change though, comes a new set of problems. When I start picking up on them, you can be sure I'll be talking about them.

At this point, it's like yelling at the clouds.

So, Scott. Where in Canada are you from?

Good old Ontario and you? I can agree on that I would like to see Steem improve. Are you a witness?/you should run as a witness.

Majority of us want to see it improve.

Nope, not a witness and that's not the first time someone suggested I do it. I'm thinking about it.

You can find me roaming around Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Awesome, Canadians for Steem! 🇨🇦 You should though.

Once my confidence lost in this project is restored, and I start seeing more of the potential realized instead of squashed, I'll consider it. I've spent enough money and time on what it takes for me to produce the stuff that goes into my posts so I can earn less than a dollar an hour. Spending more is too much of a gamble for me at this point.

As the largest stakeholder they should care about abuse, and the community... I mean what is the value of a token with no use case and a shrinking community.

Add to that a broke centralized company. Seems like watching over the value of the token would be a good use of their time.

Never did anyone suggest or imply they shouldn't care about abuse and especially not community otherwise they wouldn't have even bothered to do this interview. They absolutely should and I'm sure they do, but again they had to lay off 70% of their staff, so naturally I'm sure that's not their first priority

Posted using Partiko Android