Catching a softshell turtle.

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


My girlfriend and I were enjoying a nice summer walk at the arboretum when we saw a softshell turtle. We had no idea they could run this fast. When we caught him we noticed a couple leeches on him and removed them before letting him go. Check it out @annephilbrick @saboin @borjan @nikv @amberyooper


▶️ DTube

Sort:  

It's nose is freakin me out.

It kind of reminds me of a dacshund nose.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting! Nice and strange turtle!

Pretty weird critter this is the first time i caught one.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is one odd creature. If the shell is supposed to be protective, what's the point of being soft-shelled?

Lol i just looked it up, apparently the soft shell makes them faster in the water and on land. This is why he ran so fast.

Posted using Partiko Android

Makes sense. His running speed was impressive

It's still pretty tough but flexible at the same time. It resembles a smooth thick leather some people call them leatherbacks. Who knows what the evolutionary mechanism is that let them develop a softer shell.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's one fast turtle!
That turtle was a lot bigger than I thought it would be when I saw the post. It kind of looked like it was digging a nest hole in the path when you found it. I've seen snapping turtles do that to lay eggs into. Of course, it might be pretty late in the season for turtles to lay eggs now.

You might be right about it starting dig an egg pit. This would be a bad spot for it to lay eggs, that path gets rototillered/compacted every month to clear out weeds, hopefully it found another spot for its nest. Though when i let it go it seemed headed back to that spot.

Posted using Partiko Android

I wouldn't be surprised if it headed back there. Turtles don't understand about tillers, and it's nice soft spot to dig. :-)

Very interesting animal. They are faster than I would have expected.

Yeah i looked up why softshell turtles exist, and the soft shell allows them more speed in water and on land compared to hard shelled turtles.

There was a dip just behind it on the road. Was it digging a nest?

There was a dip just
Behind it on the road. Was
It digging a nest?

                 - kansuze


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It probably was, though that's kind of a bad spot for a nest since the road gets rototillered and compacted monthly to keep it clear of weeds. Hopefully she found a better spot to lay eggs.

Posted using Partiko Android

You probably did her a favour.

I hope so, it would be great to see the babies hatching out running towards the water.

Posted using Partiko Android

Have you ever seen it before? It's pretty cool. I watched baby snapping turtles hatch on the side of a road. The mother had climbed all the way up to the road from the river.

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 24% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.