Showing off my cracked open rocks from Graves Mountain

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Most of the great finds at Graves Mountain are large boulders, though they are nearly impossible to move without heavy machinery which is not allowed to be used at the Graves Mountain dig site. So the biggest rocks are ones that will fit in a hand cart or a backpack.

This video is my content for #fridaysrock

Since it can be quite a hike out of the dig site most people only try to find little rocks. Leaving large specimens all over. I brought some home and tried to knock off the lesser rock formations on the specimens with mixed success.

Some rocks had nice formations inside and others turned into dust when trying to work with them. There is alot going on in the ground at Graves mountain so some of the store is more like charcoal than hard rock.


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq


▶️ DTube

Sort:  

Cool!
Love looking at local geology!
thanks for showing this on @pypt #pypt

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi bluefinstudios the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@bluefinstudios yeah alot going on in those stones. Thanks for checking them out.

Posted using Partiko Android

opening rocks
intresting

@o4wx sure is.. finding them can be quite the reward.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @solominer!

You just got a 3.8% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Loading...

We went to Colorado and found such beautiful rocks! (lots of gold up there - but i don't think i found any of that heeheh)

I really enjoyed seeing the different kinds - and did even find a pretty geode!

love hearing your voice again on #pypt!! :) Your posts are always great!

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi dreemsteem the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@dreemsteem Colorado is #rockhound heaven. I want to hike some of those mountains and look for rocks too. Super cool you got to do that while at the block party. Aww thanks alot, its given me alot more confidence when people let me know that.

Posted using Partiko Android

hah... #fridaysrock sounds like a fun tag!

thanks for sharing on #pypt... I didn't know you did literal mining :P

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi fraenk the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@fraenk it is a great tag.. alot of steem users are rock collectors it seems.

Hah yeah I do a little bit of both.. crypto and IRL mining.

Posted using Partiko Android

Imagine what could be made if you could get one of the big boulders home!!! Thank you for sharing on #PYPT <3

@lil-layla hehe.. some people do bring home hundred pound boulders.. the rule is if you can get it out of the quarry with hand tools its yours.

Posted using Partiko Android

really cool video!!! I would think spark plugs are still made :D

Thanks for sharing your post!!

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi snook the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@snook hah thanks.. they just use new materials for spark plugs. I think kyanite was used years back in spark plugs.. now its iridium or something.

Posted using Partiko Android

I do wish I could watch your video, but Dtube won't play for me. But, you said something on PYPT about kyanite...? I love kyanite, and it is one of my favorites in my collection of mineral specimens! I have a piece of green kyanite as well as the more common blue. Thanks for reminding me of another post I need to write! Perhaps you can post some photos from your collection sometime, too! 🙂

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi thekittygirl the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@thekittygirl oh darn, yeah I came across some blue kyanite there. Oh cool did not know it came in green.. super cool. I shared them awhile back in some posts but it may have been before you were a follower or mine. Maybe I'll share them again for new followers in the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday



Hi solominer the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com