You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working on the painting 'Dissolution of Form' - Part 3

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

Retarders may not be the best answer - I tried them long time ago (I doubt that they are any better now) but what they do is make the paint gummy, and that isn't workable either.
For some time now there is a product on the market by Golden, which is GOLDEN OPEN, and I tried a giveaway store sample. It works pretty good, alas it is also very expensive!
Just try to be fast. Another product I like to use for fine brush work are GOLDEN FLUID: I just put a few drops out, they go a long way, are very economic. Their pigment is super strong and concentrated, so you can thin them with water quite a bit, which makes them stay open longer too. And no, I am not a spokesperson for Golden, lol

Sort:  

Thank you Otto, I can imagine the quality of paints will be also altered by using retarders, you are right to try to work faster and just plan in advance that is one of the solution of problem, but thank you for sharing the tips about what you used Golden Fluid sound reasonable :)

Those retarders today are different. I'm about to test the Lascaux Retarder.

Let me know how it works - I have not tried one in a long time, maybe they make them better now.