You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dtube Does What?!? Why I Won't Be Using Dtube...For Now

in #dtube6 years ago

Thanks for the nice post. But I personally would phrase it a bit differently. It's not that DTube is doing it intentionally or without Steemians' notice. It's just simply author/curator reward system, that was set up in that way - 75% authors - 25% curators. The same thing applies for posts here, coming from Steepshot etc. But DTube is just using it's SP to promote the platform by rewarding contributors and using rewards from their curations to pay for our storage. However, if I remember it correctly I read that they are considering to change the structure - authors would have to pay for the long-term storage (somewhere in the far future - but that wold be a tiny fraction - few cents for a 1gb of storage space). I am not sure about it but will try to find the article and link it below. Also, DTube takes around 25% because its the largest curator for the platform. Nevertheless, its everyones own responsibility to do a due diligence before using any platform.

Thanks for sharing this once again. Cheers!

Sort:  

25% is taken by curators. After that Dtube takes another 25% of the author rewards so its not the same as just doing a regular post on Steemit. I just found out about the other apps doing the same but I believe they have a lower rate. Dlive is the only app not taking anything for posting. Nevertheless I am rooting for Dtube's success. I just would like the information to be transparent. We have a lot of new people coming on to this platform and they should be able to know this info without having to dig.