Thundering Hooves - Trampling the Enemy in Total War: Arena

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Total War: Arena is an adaptation of the long running Total War series. This game takes the unique turn based/real time blend of grand strategy and replaces it with fast paced PVP action whilst maintaining the core elements of an in depth tactical battle.

In this battle, @mugsy fields heavy infantry regiments whilst @fiskey and I deploy heavy shock cavalry. This cavalry is designed to trample the enemy under foot and crush their morale whilst inflicting heavy losses with their lances.

At the beginning of the battle I'm rather separated from my friends as @fiskey moves to support the weaker left flank with @mugsy. I maintain the right and move in on some weaker units in an attempt to relieve my allies but alas, the centre of the map becomes overun. I narrowly escape my fate and circle around to re-link with the majority of the army.

I engage a group of archers with a successful charge, rapidly removing them from the field. I then move to wait in ambush behind some building as @mugsy pushes forward, tricking the enemy into running directly into my path. Our combination of brute force, swift charges and combined arms sees us win the day!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS