Escape from Tarkov - Third Time's a Charm

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Playing a few rounds of Factory here with @fiskey in Escape from Tarkov and boy did we get off to a rough start.

The first round ends very abruptly after I get flanked and ambushed and @fiskey gets overwhelmed. Second round, well, you will see the foolishness that happens there! The third was finally a winner with some well executed kills and a few moments of dumb luck...

Having played this game a fair bit over the last month I can say without a doubt that I have not enjoyed an FPS this much in years. The realistic combat mechanics mixed with (mostly) intelligent AI and rutheless enemy players makes for a high risk high reward game where you can make it big or lose it all. I can tell you now that sometimes it gets my adrenaline pumping and at times, when I have lulled myself into a false sense of security, I'll get a jump scare as a hail of bullets flies at me from and unknown enemy.

On top of this the weapon modding system is absolutely stunning. You can chop and changes almost every part of your gun and the guns and parts themselves look beautiful. Each part slightly modifies the capabilities and handling characteristics of your weapon so you can really make something that works well for you.

I hope you all enjoy the video!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's an awesome game isn't it.
I have been putting many hours into it, in the last month and a half.
The game has so much depth especially for a game that's only still in its beta stage.
I can't wait to see what the developers have planned for the future for this game as it has so much potential.

Yeah I've been very impressed with it so far. There is so much content they could put into this game, and I'm loving how the weapon modding works to the point that you can just build something ridiculous if you really want haha.

They recently did load testing too and mentioned that one of their priorities is better servers as right now there are a few matching issues.

Yeah I noticed that the 'matching' or 'waiting for players' happens quite a bit since the game has picked up a lot more popularity lately.
I for one need to get around to finally upgrading my computer as I am still using 8GB DDR3 ram which sorta screws me over if I don't restart the game every now and again because of the memory leak, especially on shoreline.

Oh man I feel your pain - my CPU is starting to get very old by today's technology standards. We found that an ALT+F4 and then rebooting the game seems to refresh the connection and get you into the game. Bit of a bother but as least you can still get in.

We were playing one day on woods and trying to exfil near the UN checkpoint (or whatever it was called) and we all dropped frames and it was like watching a GIF frame by frame. Made me nauseous but I wanted my loot!

I had a really bad experience on woods just yesterday. I had looted 2x AKS with a full mag in each of them.
Then I saw someone and started to follow them. When I caught up to them, I went prone and full auto'd him with half my clip as he went behind some bushes to hide and heal because he didn't know where I was shooting him from.
Then suddenly I saw someone next to him stand up out of nowhere, as he obviously had a team mate there with him. I then spammed the rest of my clip into his legs as they both had fort armor.
I then switched to the AKS on my back to finish the first guy off as I could see his head poking out from behind the bushes.
At this point I was thinking, awesome free fort armor from both these guys.
My PC then freezes for 4 full seconds as I go to pull the trigger, when I unfreeze I was dead. FML! I still haven't got lucky enough to get fort armor to finish off the first task for skier :(

Ah that really sucks. We died the other day because we both lagged when looking through the scope of the SKS and it was just enough time for the guy to grab cover and nail us. I was never lucky enough to grab fort either but if you grind Prapor up he eventually has a mission where u get one as reward. That's how I did it.

Not our best night by a long shot, but we got there eventually. There's always a next time in EFT though thankfully, say a pray for a our loot so hopefully it comes back as insurance

Ah you just reminded me I forgot to check it tonight! I'm wondering now whether or not they need a different system simply for the fact that it kinda punishes you for not playing which could be out of your control