Where To Go From Here? πŸ™ƒ | Vlog #126

in #dtubedaily β€’ 6 years ago


Hey SteemSquad and DTubeNation!

I really feel like it's time.

Have a lovely day and hope you join me on this epic journey #SteemOn

My Steemit Profile - https://steemit.com/@kevinli


Background Music by Epidemic Sound
https://player.epidemicsound.com

Join the DTube discord:
discord.gg/dtube


FOLLOW MY CRYPTOCURRENCY JOURNEY SO FAR

Vlog #125 - I’m On The Right Path. Are You?

Vlog #124 - The Difference Between Hustling and Relaxing

Vlog #123 - I’m So Over The Negativity

Vlog #122 - What To Do - When Our Videos Don’t Go To Plan?


▢️ DTube
▢️ IPFS
Sort: Β 

You'll be back!!! lol You could go Live on Dlive! lol You could upload your best Youtube video onto Dtube and do a Dtube introduction.

I can do that I guess, dunno, I have motivation like I've never had before.

Get er dun! lol It seems like only gamers go live. :( You could also get a green screen as well. Maybe you could provide tips and advice for Dtubers.
FYI you might want to sign up for @dustsweeper.

YOU HAVEN'T POSTED FOR 3 DAYS.
I'M FREAKING OUT!

I've been away for four days in a place with no internet access. I came back expecting to have missed lots of your videos - and there were only 2! Haha :)
I don't really think there should even be a conflict between Dtube and YouTube. Both offer different things. I used to make regular YouTubes until they changed the algorithms etc and it just didn't seem worth the time and effort, but I definitely will make YouTubes again in future. You say that there are too many "talking heads" on this platform and that producers aren't going beyond that level. I think that's because the videos are only monetised for 7 days, so unless you have a huge following there doesn't seem much point in making highly produced videos that take a long time to edit - unless you're going to post them on YouTube later for the passive income. The YouTubes I made a couple of years ago are starting to build in popularity now. I certainly didn't make them for the money - they haven't made me a cent, and they were more like therapy in a way! But in the long term they might actually earn me some passive income - how ironic!
I also make unmonetised "hobby" YouTubes occasionally. Who knows - one day I might try monetising those too. Why stick to one platform?

Yeah, quality will be scrutinised on here for a long time but what's the alternative, YouTube? haha.
I've been more active on YouTube and I've started seeing results again.

Goals Goals Goals, set yourself a new high bar brother ;) looking forward to whenever the next Vid is :)

I just see this video now! Sad to hear because you were the first vlogger here which I started following. On the other side I totally am a fan of following the heart so if this is what you want you should certainly do it! We talked about youtube this week on discord and I will definately check you out there :)

Thanks, John! I'm not going away just re-focussing on a past demon :) Should be a new dtube video tonight or tomorrow.

wearing youtube on dtube? :O

Here for the money, played with the heart.

Haha, well buddy. Thanks for the honesty. You've been one of the only Dtube vloggers I actually have come back to to see what's up.

I get that Youtube still is attractive - mainly because it's x1000 times bigger in audience than any other video platform. Meaning.. feedback and interaction with real people is that much more... possible. I also get that financially Dtube doesn't generate ongoing revenue - but Busy, Steepshot, Dlive and other systems can still give you discoverability.

I know the cross pollination is tiring - but it's recommended for success. And screw those who complain about you posting to both platforms. Youtube content from the owner should be on there too. Why not!? And also - Dtube can only be as valuable as the content.. so if you have great content, put it here also. You loose nothing - it's just upload same file (ambigiously designed for both areas), copy paste title, copy paste description, publish - have fun.

Ill be honest with you and say what I feel, you gave me the inspiration to start posting on this platform.
I have made so many videos and they are all sitting here on my harddrive they were made to be posted on youtube but I never posted.. why. because I had to censor myself in every video. I felt for youtube I couldn't fully be myself. Let me be fully honest , in real life I swear . usually when I'm in the zone, passionate or really fucking inspired. also I like to listen to music and music makes up a great part of who I am and sometimes I like to use a little "copyrighted" material in my creative process. It helps me to add my personality and feelings to my creations. and I don't know if its frowned upon here . and I don't really care . I love making videos and sharing my creations. I get a little buzz off the upvotes and the money is just a little bonus. I would still create and share. As you can see my grammar is shit and my videos are not the best , I am just a rookie but if I don't put them up and I don't keep trying and keep editing I won't get any better , ill just stay in the same shitty place doing fuck all with myself, but I totally understand your perspective on what your saying and where your coming from. but if and when you wanna collab and your down in the country NSW come find me cause I'm building and ill embrace any creator .. peace brother and thank for being a window of opportunity for me

That's the mentality I love. If you keep at it continuously the growth in your videos and yourself is going to be so damn good in the coming months. All the best, I'll check back on you periodically :)

Is it possible to post across both platforms? Would that be a bad thing?

I totally get wanting to focus your energy on one video platform though. And the added perk of earning revenue from a video indefinitely is an attractive one.

We'll miss your daily updates but I'm sure we'll still find you in discord from time to time. :)

Thanks, Ian. I'm only a DM away :)

The minute 2:20 - for real? LOLOL wow and this is like a breaking up video. #wentdeep You broke my heart baby face ❀ see you on the other side anyways hahaha ❀ ❀

Maybe I'll be way closer to pad thai now

You guys should get a room! :p

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Don't forget....And I'm not sure you signed up for it or not when you got started....But you inspired a lot of people to actually get behind the camera and press record.

Speaking from personal experience, your tips have helped me a ton. And you are right, some of us might still be 6 years behind and just getting started doing the videos...So you did inspire people to actually take action.

Again not sure if that's your goal or ever was with your dtube videos...But it's helped a ton of people!

It was a small goal but I guess it became the most successful part of my journey. Cool to see people taking some advice from me. Have a good one, Jon! Love your work.

I feel like youtube videos are pretty fine on DTube, as long as theyre not old reposts. maybe you should try crossposting on both youtube and dtube? all you'd have to do is changing your "welcoming" part ;)

Both platforms are different in content though :). I love your username btw haha

For consumption yes, because Dtube has a limited selection of content because it's new and small. As a creator it's really up to you what grows around - like tutorials, video essays, software breakdowns, music, whatever you're into. I get the fatigue - but if you have great content on Youtube, there should be NOTHING stopping you. You could even edit out the "youtube" part if it's that sensitive, then publish here. Content is what makes a platform. Creators is what makes content. Hope you crosspollinate your content and find satisfaction in doing so.

Screw those who say Youtube shouldn't migrate to Dtube. Content is king. Content creators should be the ones who decide where it goes.

thanks! oh well, i feel like whenever you make something cool, creative and 'universal' theres nothing that stops you from using it on both platforms ;)

Hey @kevinli going to miss you on this platform. You have been a solid rock ever since I started. Wish you the best in your future endeavors. Cheers.

-Ken

Cheers, Ken. Keep DTubing, my man!

Man, there is a "Strong Possibility" that Steem will be worth $100 by the end of this year.

That would mean that a vlog with no DTube love (you get about $4 on average without Dtube love) would mean $100 by the end of the year.

And a vlog with Dtube love would mean $2500

All this is IF Steem reaches $100 by the end of the year, and IF you now Buy Steem with all the SBD that you earn from each video.

I know that you donΒ΄t do it for the money though. But.... $2500 for a 2-5 minutes vlog ainΒ΄t bad at all.

Just for the record: In my opinion Steem will be worth < $5 by the end of the year.

Gosh, a $5 Steem price would be nice. That's a full time living for many people.

You'd be a millionaire if that happened haha

Very inspiring tip and experience for me as a beginner, thanks, I really enjoy from the beginning to the end of your video, Thank you very much

Thanks bud, always appreciate your comments

Thank you very much, you always respond quickly, many people like your attitude.

Home is where the heart is, so focus your energy there. There's no hard feelings from us and hopefully there isn't from others. Like you said, you'll be around 'town'. If you do go away for a bit, don't forget to delegate your STEEM as although you are not in it for the money, the delegation can help some of your favorite Steemians/DTubers OR curation accounts. It keeps your account 'active' and plus you get some interest, make your STEEM work for you. Something to consider, but it's your choice. 😊

It's a shame DTube didn't answer your question, I'd really like to know the answer as well. Anyways, I felt the same about YouTube, but algorithm changes and management of YouTube has made me loose all hope for YouTube. The only reason I still post is my existing audience...

AHHHHHHHHH .....I AM SOO FREAKING OUT RIGHT NOW!
Creativity is a funny old fish. I have had plenty of days where I am just not sure what I should do or have to give. This whole system has a psychological effect on us too as you said. It is a very interesting point you made about most people on DTube being newbies and you have been through this once already. I had not considered that before and I can see your point. Well the way I see it is when you are ready , you would be perfect to take thing to the next level with your experience. Creativity can't be forced and there is no rush anyway. The race is only ever with ourselves.

Well that's pretty cool! We're always on the lookout for great video, and this one caught our attention. We added it to the list, so you're on OneLoveDTube Video Picks of the day!


You can view all of our picks from May 23 here: OneLoveDTube Picks

If you want to find out more about how we support and encourage creators on the platform, please join us on the OneLoveDTube discord server and help share the love!

Hey buddy, good to find your post here on steemit. I am gonna check it up on dtube. Hope is in the discord dtube channel #promo.

Thanks. Have a good day