You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Please please think about Dtube’s Future a little and contribute a little as you can [Do not Comment ]

in #dtubesnap6 years ago (edited)

I totally can understand where you are coming from @onnovocks. I have seen a girl in less than 55 seconds sit in a bath full of bubbles.. kick her bare toes.. acting in a way that is enticing.. with no 'value' behind the content of the 55 seconds.. beyond possibly it might be 'eye candy' for people. And that gets a massive upvote. Then I stand in front of a hurricane and nearly die (literally) and end up with barely 20 bucks. Which the footage of the storm alone not only endangers my life but is so long it takes hours to edit.. and put together.. then the rendering.. main image.. music choice.. writing the synopsis.. promotion of the video. Don't get me wrong I have had much support of DTube. But sometimes I still scratch my head.

I followed you because I want to support you and follow your journey. I like quality. I am not into bubble baths. I am more of a hurricane type of woman. :P

I also want to mention I never comment on 'no comment' videos but everyone else is doing it. In my life it seems like everything is ok for everyone else to do but when I attempt the same I find myself in trouble. It can be frustrating to follow the rules out of respect and then when people break them they seem to get respected... that is a topic for another day though.

Sort:  

I've seen some of your video work and know you spent considerable time on your content. The point I'm really driving at is that I think DTube had a strategy to get folks to sign on, but now that those folks are here they have no strategy to keep them here. When I go to DTube, 90% of what I see is folks who turned the camera on themselves trying to sell/tell me something, specifically DTube, contests, Steem or some other crypto currency. I don't do this kind of work. I record concerts or sometimes shoot movies (with a crew of about 30 people) and I see very little support for that kind of thing. I think DTube numbers are declining because the content consumer has to work too hard to find stuff they want as everything gets buried under big up votes. There may well be great concert footage on DTube, but I don't know where to find it.

I hadn't noticed the no comment thing, but aren't we doing exactly what the whole video was about? Interacting in a genuine way? Contributing valid points of view? Opening a discussion on what we think would help DTube compete with the likes of YouTube? Finding out why content creators aren't interacting with their viewers anymore? (because they get the bot votes regardless of what they post, or, they are busy getting more footage, or, they no longer care)

I'll return the follow as I run into you fairly often anyway, and like you, I prefer the hurricane over that bubble bath with wiggly toes, even if I have to admit that there has to be room for that also if we are to be a diverse platform.

Thank you for your time and response. Greetings!

Hmm maybe some day I will bring some bubbles and pour it into the lake during the next violent storm! I can dip my toes while hanging onto the dock for dear life.. not sure if it will be sexy but damn it I will try! haha..

I would love to see your content because I am someone who has a background in film.. I appreciate all sorts of content.. so that will be interesting for me. I think they should diversify indeed. And yes I can understand your point about engaging.. you are a very wise person. :D
Talk soon!