Quack quack quack

in #duck7 years ago (edited)

  I don't miss my rubber duck   

When I was just a small boy, maybe of the age 12 or 13 

I was given a small rubber duck 

The person who gave me the rubber duck, did not know me.

I thought they did it out of kindness 

I had never been given something by someone I did not know. 

This duck began to mean more to me than many other items my parent bought me 

This was the first act of random kindness my little mind knew 

I took my duck everywhere I went

I began to leave my other toys everywhere. 

I was obsessed with this duck. 

My parents tried everything to get me to outgrow this duck 

I was 29 years old and I didn’t own a single other toy, car or anything someone my age should 

I didn’t talk to anyone outside of work and I barely talked to anyone inside my house 

This duck was my life, it was all I could think about during every hour of every day. 

I wanted my duck always when I was awake and thought about it every time I was without 

My duck was awesome from the very 1st time I had it, I gave up everything for my duck 

I worked as much as I could for my duck and when I lost my job I was so low I fucked for my duck 

No matter how much Duck I had, I wanted more. 

Duck almost killed me more than once and often had me sent to jail 

I never cared or loved Duck less, I just wanted more Duck 

I was no longer me, I was Duck.  

That random act of kindness from that stranger when I was young changed my entire life. 

I could have been anything, I was a straight A honors student, from a wealthy family, with both parents and a few brothers and sisters. 

I gave that all up for Duck. 

Duck ended up getting me murdered one night I was trying to get more Duck. 

Fuck.  


Don't do Duck.

Sort:  

Rubber ducky... your the one!

You make bath time SOOO much fun!

Congratulations @erodedthoughts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!