My Duodenal Ulcer - Steve

in #duodenal2 years ago

Good day, readers!

For the last 4 years, I've been living with a debilitating ulcer (if I don't treat it daily). Over this time, I have named my ulcer Steve, as it's easier to say Steve is bugging me lately than explain an ulcer to someone.

Weird? Yup!

It all started shortly after having Gastric Bypass surgery. I went through a 2+ year program through Alberta Health where I was set up with my own dietician, nurse, doctor, and psychologist. Over those 2 years, I had to prove I was serious about a diet change, and I was taught what my comorbidities truly meant.

The comorbidities I was diagnosed with
Depression
Hypothyroidism
Obesity
Anxiety
Torn knee cartilage
Back pain from my breasts

img_0.5920442855745738.jpg
Gastric Bypass is a stomach surgery

On top of those things, I have more allergies than I can keep track of, so once I landed myself in emergency, there was a few drugs I had to make sure they didn't give me, as they don't keep these on file apparently.

Codiene
Tylenol
Advil Can cause or make ulcers worse
Fentanyl

Then I had to be careful, as I was going through Percoset withdrawals that I had been prescribed for only 2 weeks. Crazy stuff right there. My veins in my hands were black, I was hunched over crying in pain in the ER waiting room, and I was shaking uncontrollably. I waited in that room for 4 hours. I had sent my boyfriend, @cavemann420, back to our Christmas party as waiting with me didn't do anything. He made sure I had a blanket before leaving, but it was from our car, since the nurses seem to neglect the waiting room patients, in my city.

img_0.09827374458759368.jpg
I was lucky with my withdrawals as I was only on them for 2 weeks. I can only imagine if I was on them longer. I was prescribed 2 a day for 1 week, but took only 1 a day for 2 weeks.
https://anrclinic.com/opioid-withdrawal-treatment/percocet-withdrawal/

Once I finally got in, and set up with Morphine, they decided I needed my Galbladder removed. At that point, I had endured the worst pain for 3 months straight. Relief was rarely found, and I can only compare those 3 months to the moments before getting pre-birth drugs. Insane pain. Since I was just done with living in pain, I signed the paperwork to get my Galbladder removed. I didn't care. Who needs a Galbladder anyways, were my thoughts.

img_0.6993691232009912.jpg
take a look at this link for more info
https://hhma.org/healthadvisor/aha-chosto-crs/

I was booked in for a 7am surgery. That meant I got to spend the night in the hospital. It also meant fasting for 12 hours. No problem there. That translated to not throwing anything up for the next 12 hours so I took that gladly.

Day 2, I had a new doctor look at my charts in the morning, and he decided to postpone my surgery to run more tests. I was sent for an xray and CT scan. Results came back with nothing to show. So, they put me back on the list for the next morning and another 12 hour fast.

Day 3 in the hospital was another cancelled surgery. A 3rd doctor postponed it again, and sent me for a Barium Swallow test. If you've ever had one, you'll understand. If you haven't had this test, count yourself lucky. I was already throwing all my food up and at that point had lost 120 pounds in only 7 months. Remember, I was post Gastric Bypass for those 7 months.

What is a Barium Swallow?

Well, in simple terms, you swallow a liquid that shows up on an xray. I've done this test twice now, and it doesn't get easier. You take a small package of these granules and try to swallow them asap. They give you a Pop Rocks type feel, immediately. You are then told to try not to burp or anything, but the poor guy almost had my vomit on him instead. After downing those granules, you drink a white chalky liquid. Gross, dry, and thick. I couldn't drink it all, because my stomach could only hold 2oz, so they were worried the test wouldn't work. I mean, you'd think they'd know I couldn't drink it all... but I guess not.

img_0.8142020611937906.jpg
Again, there's a way better description of the full test
https://hhma.org/healthadvisor/aha-chosto-crs/

Test came back the next morning, and I finally had results. In the meantime, the 3rd doctor had put me on Pantoprazol which is a super strong Gaviscon. Overnight, the change was felt. They completely cancelled my Galbladder surgery, and kept me for the rest of the morning.

Doctor came in and examined me, one last time. My diagnosis was a Duodenal Peptic Ulcer along with a Stricture. I was prescribed Pantoprazol twice a day, and have been treating it that way for the last 4 years.

I shouldn't have to live with this ulcer, and have been looking up homeopathic treatments that are more long term. I need something that lasts longer than a mere 24 hours!

Next time, we will talk about what a Stricture is, and my experience dealing with that!

Until next time
Kim