You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dustsweeper FAQ

in #dustsweeper6 years ago

Hi Linnyplant,
Thanks for the reminder and sorry I missed the comment.

The doubling of your transferred amount is linked to how STEEM's reward system works.

If I upvote you with $0.028, 25% of that will be taken away for the curation reward.

The remaining part is split 50/50, 50% SBD and 50% SP. (assuming the default setting)

The SP part is calculated taking into account that the system thinks SBD is worth $1.

So at this moment, your total reward would be around 0.019.
When we released @dustsweeper, that value was very close to 0.014, but the sharp price drop has actually made it more profitable.

The idea is that the vote itself shouldn't bring a profit, the profit should purely be from the saved dust. In a future update we will make this calculation more dynamic so it will adapt to current market conditions.

I hope that helps.
Please let me know if you want a more detailed calculation of the rewards.

And thanks a lot for your support! All votes count and I really appreciate it.

Sort:  

Thanks for comprehensive reply @danielsaori. I’m not great at maths, but I’m assuming you might have typo-ed and meant 0.025 to reach a 0.019 return? I reluctantly pulled out the calculator to see what you meant. :)

What I’m reading is that the intention is to ensure we’re not out of pocket, the doubling effect was put in place. I’d actually not even considered the reward system with the curation, and that we are only getting back 50% of the SBD at payout with the other 50% in SP locked away. Thanks for being clear on that.

So the mystery remains for me though, where are the funds coming from. But even as I’m writing this, I’m imagining that this doubling effect is really just the value you’ve recorded on your system to ensure we get the equivalent of value in upvotes to balance the SBD returns for the money put aside to rescue our dust. So that any SP gained is just bonus and negates the -25% curation?

As I said, once people start talking numbers I get lost, and I’m sure you have a detail paper on this. I just wanted to get the basics right so I can confidently recommend it to others. I rarely take an interest in these kinds of projects, but dustsweeper seems like a very useful service. ❤️