DustSweeper, a minnow's secret weapon?

in #dustsweeper6 years ago

image.png

I gave @dustsweeper a try a few weeks ago and I'm impressed. It's a simple service that allows users to get paid out on comments that normally wouldn't pay out. If your comment or post is less than $0.02 at payout, you will not get paid. This is referred to the dust threshold and votes less than $0.02 are considered dust votes.

While Dust Sweeper doesn't work for posts, it will automatically upvote your comments enough to exceed the dust threshold right before payout. If you get an upvote for $0.01 you will receive a vote from @dustsweeper before payout to bring it above $0.02. Dust Sweeper will not give you a profitable ROI directly, your ROI comes from votes you would never receive credit for.

Dust Sweeper is easy!

Just send any amount of Steem/SBD to @dustsweeper and that's it! It will automatically deduct from your balance each time it finds a comment below the payout threshold. I recommend starting with 1 SBD or Steem to get started and that should last you a while. You will receive a notification when your balance is about to run out. Want to add more to your balance? Just send more SBD or Steem and you will receive a response with your new balance.

You do not need to send much, I recommend 0.500 SBD for smaller users to get started and try it out and 1-2 SBD for larger users.

Dust Sweeper isn't going to make you rich, but it will give you credit for the upvotes you would have lost.

This service only works on comments, and will not vote comments that you the only vote.

Image Sources: 1

Sort:  

Thank you Mark for the @dustsweeper shout-out! Happy you like it and very nice of you to make this post.

Dusty actually works for posts as well, but its powers are normally used for comments as those normally fall below the $0.02 threshold.

Here some stats for your own account:

You have received 35 votes.
Dusty has saved you $0.41.
Your current balance is $1.56.

Will make these stats available via Discord, just haven't had time to implement it.

Currently, the balance can be checked by sending any amount bigger than 0.002. Will change that so it works also for 0.001 for registered users and all the stats above will be provided in the memo.

That would be neat to get these stats easily available!

It will come. I promise! :)

I've been using @dustsweeper ever since @bashadow recommended it to me. It works great and every penny you put in you will get back.

It has changed the way I think about voting, too. I used to refrain from voting on most comments because I was afraid of running out of VP, or creating dust votes. Now I put a small vote on every comment I receive knowing that the author can get a reward as long as they use dustsweeper.

I'm a big proponent of this service and have told all the helpies to get on it... I should probably bring it up today again.

:)

Hi @themarkymark!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 8.066 which ranks you at #29 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 32).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 407 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I agree it's a great service that is extremely helpful to redfish and minnows. I have been using it for several months now and couldn't be happier with the results.

You can also delegate a little to them to help support the initiative :D

I've always wondered how much not being able to reach the threshold impacts new users. Now there is no reason to worry about it I guess.

I have been using it for more than a month already and really like the service

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing @themarkymark.
I will try this green eggs and ham...
Lol
Joy

a friend of mine (@minismallholding) introduced me to @dustsweeper, she even paid on my behalf. I also followed up as well. I think it's a nice initiative, though i do not have the luxury of commenting like I used to, I know i can still eatn something from the comments I make that dont get up to $0.02 upvote

Or, in any given hardfork we could take the time to stop being first world aholes and change that dust threshold to .001?

ButbI understoofmd after hf20 there are no dustvotes? Or am I wrong. I need to refill my dustsweeper i too loved their service

There are no dust votes but there are dust payouts. Prior you couldn’t vote if it was below so much and you couldn’t get paid if it was below $0.02. Now only the second is true.

Thanks for the clarification 🍁🐁

I didn't even know about this "feature". It seems pretty unfair for little guys. I can collect curation rewards under 0.02 all the time, why not author rewards? hmm.

I tried this and liked it initially. So I can’t be certain because my general care-factor wasn’t high, but it seemed like it upvoted comments older than 7 days, burning my allocated funds. Since the maker was a slower to never responder, I couldn’t be bothered following up on it. Not a fan.

I believe early on there was an issue and there were a few miss votes (but you didn't get charged from what I understand). RIght now it upvotes around 5-6 days as far as I know.

Sounds like a very useful service. I see a number of those .01 at my Commentss. Nice to know about this. Thanks for the heads up @themarkymark

Lol what are you kidding?
That is no spam in any imaginable way

Haha yeah, this post is informative and a reminder that dustsweeper offers it's service for not just minnows as the big fish are also using it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great. So I am going to join. Thanks for introducing