Duty

in #duty5 years ago

What must I do, is all that concerns me, not what the people think. This rule, equally arduous in actual and in intellectual life, may serve for the whole distinction between greatness and meanness. It is the harder, because you will always find those who think they know what is your duty better than you know it. It is easy in the world to live after the world's opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude.

From "Self-Reliance," Essays, First Series by Ralph Waldo Emerson

Have you ever suggested a career path or job or some other endeavor to someone with the sincere belief that you were suggesting something better than that person was presently doing?

I have.

Perhaps in consideration of a latent or patent skill. Maybe more money or opportunities. Generally, what I would consider a happy result.

In the main, the suggestions were ignored. Not they were bad suggestions, but ultimately what the person felt they must do was different.

I don't think I try to impose a duty - in fact, I always want what I consider "fun" or "rewarding" for others.

Sometimes, there is a half-hearted effort to appease me - which usually fails.

ThirtyNine.jpg

Then again, it is rare that I have done what others have considered to be my duty. It is better to trick me into learning something new.

As far as how easy it is to live after the world's opinion - it may be easy, but probably a life filled with regrets and missed opportunities.