Bald eagle season

in #eagles7 years ago

P1020308 (2).JPGPeople call it salmon season, but at my house it's eagle season. My house is next to a major salmon spawning creek in Alaska. When the salmon show up to spawn in the creek, they attract a lot of predators. Bears and eagles are the most noticeable, and if you happen to live beside the spawning creek, the eagles are a loud and annoying nuisance. It gets light at 3 am and with the light comes the eagles, squawking and flapping and fighting. They are our national bird and they are majestic when you see them in the distance soaring over the mountains, but up close and personal....not so much!
These two babies are just learning how to fish. Bald eagles don't reach maturity and get their white heads until they are about five years old.
P1020462 (2).JPG
Two adult eagles, probably a couple. Bald eagles mate for life.
P1020414 (3).JPG
This one is drying off on my roof after wading around in chest deep water trying to grab a salmon almost as big as the bird!
P1020334 (1).JPG
They really are cool to see.

Sort:  

I have never been able to photograph a bald eagle yet. It's become pretty much the only thing on what I'd call a bucket list.

Well, I see a road trip to Alaska in your future. Time it to arrive at my house right after the 4th of July (and there's no sirens!)