You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planning for a sustainable future.

I am well aware of the failures of past communities. There is an excellent documentary about New Zealand's Mahana which started of beautiful and turned into a sad reminder of what happens to these communities.
Such a drastic change mixed with the isolation from society is often a death sentence for these communities. However I like the idea of smaller governance when mixed with technology. I believe it's easier for the people to maintain a strong voice with smaller government. Coming from a background of tribal communities, I also know that even small government can become corrupt and have thought about this.
The difference between all other communities and what I envision is technology and not necessarily isolating ourselves. A person who simply owns a little land can participate and still be part of the community/communities. Having this connection using technology will allow people to figure things out and problem solve. Things often look good on paper but don't work when applied so I imagine problems will arise. Different communities will have different ways of doing things and we will adapt things that work allowing for evolution.
I'm not saying "I know how to save the world" I am just adopting ideas and trying to bring people together in order to create positive change.
My hope is to become successful with my own investment so I can use that success as a way to get the attention of tribal governments. If I can gain the support of my wife's tribe and my tribe that means I will have brought a powerful allie into the project. The tribe makes billions through gaming and does a lot for the community already so I'm sure it would be an easy task given the positive impact.