You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Reasons Why EarthShips Are Totally Awesome!

in #earthship7 years ago (edited)

I am in love with Earthships. I don't know if it would be feasible for us to build one at our current property because of building regulations but I love how they look, I love their sustainability model, and I love that it can be lovingly built by hand. I've upvoted & resteemed - would love to see more pictures and also learn about your building process!

Sort:  

where do you live? Earthships have met the domestic building regs in many countries including USA, UK, Netherlands, Japan, and many others.. There can be issues and difficulties but these are normally just due to this approach being so different that you have to take the time and energy to communicate to inspectors what is going on.. You need to be able to reach compromise sometimes about certain things.. Overall though, they will pass any test you throw at them..

You can see some more pictures of my build at www.earthshipkaruna.net
Thank you! If you want this enough you Can make it happen!

Soon im going to post my top tips for self building for the first time.. You might find some good ideas and info there..

That's helpful information, thank you! We're in Southeast US. It's definitely worth at least asking about. I'm checking out your website now!

USA is really basically fine.. The biotecture group even got full planning permission in New York City! They are already in many if not most states in America.. USA is where they were invented..

If you visit ww.earthship.org you can contact the Biotecture FOlks and see if they can help steer you ...
Definitely worth a visit to Taos New Mexico If you are able!