How A Magazine Article Brought Me To This Concert Tonight

in #ecency4 months ago

I cannot explain my motivations, sometimes. Other times, the truth appears very plain, like a picture. I cook ground beef namely because the taste agrees with me. I take photos because memories and words don’t capture every little thing. I read to understand more and write to express complexity with less words.

Then, why exactly did I begin collecting men’s magazines? Did the motivation come from the desire to touch the smooth surface of glossy magazine paper? I reckon I collect them for the imagery; I see pictures of strong men and how they achieve it, three-page spreads of demure, intelligent women and what attracts them. But one can’t forget the number of cocktail mixes, food recipes, the vacation trips, the sartorial guides on how to wear a suit.

I collect old issues of print magazines for the culture. That culture of curiosity led to the discovery of an artist I would not otherwise have known.

I found under a review of techno music, in the 1997 February issue of Playboy, a small paragraph about a Californian DJ. That excerpt, I read during the pandemic, introduced me to music I enjoy so much, I’m sitting passenger-side right now, to see him.

The Paragraph That Made Me Curious

Compositions designed for headphones, makes an unassuming introduction. Yet, my artist’s eye makes as little assumption as the ego permits. During the pandemic, I found myself in deep reflection and darkness. Freshly separated, from the world and a partner, I sought out connections online.

Friends are a mixed bag, especially spiced up by the internet.

When those friends could not be called upon, I leaned into video games and music. I used the art of photography as a canvas, too. I began collecting print magazines as a manner of focus on my personal ambitions, forming a media company or at least a small publication to start. That’s when I began collecting old prints from various other brands. I collected an issue of Playboy from my birth month and year as a present to myself, to comb for culture and connection.

Over Time, Our Choices Guide Our Lives

I’m sure that for whatever reason, the fact Josh Davis found himself listening to tapes over many things in his early years led him to wear he is today. This isn’t a feat of literary analysis, though. The perseverance to take a passion to this level isn’t superhuman, though, I think. That’s the kicker. I’m almost certain that the true determinant of this kind of longevity in any field comes down to love. To love music, photography, writing, even another person in this way, means a lot. Returning after a long day or picking up the pieces even if it’s hard and thankless, is no simple task. Glad DJ Shadow stuck with this hustle. Hope I do too.

Sort:  

Some magazine are actually worth reading because they always passed a strong message across to us that most of the time we don't even think about

That's one reason I like them so much. They represent a rapidly disappearing art in production: quality.