You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Geeking out at the solar eclipse!

in #eclipse7 years ago (edited)

Me too! It was an amazing experience. You can look at all the photos you want but there is no way to adequately describe the anticipation and the actual experience of the sun winking out and turning into a black-hole surrounded by fire in the sky. Just amazing.

Unfortunately it was the shortest two minutes of my live and I kick myself for spending even 30 seconds trying to shot a photo of it. So I'm already planning to be seeing another one ASAP. Chile 2019 here we come!

Sort:  

Agreed! I wish I would have stared at it even more, but I'm still glad I managed to capture a picture :) It only lasted a minute and 20 seconds from where I was watching. We could have driven an hour and struggled with traffic, parking, etc... to get an extra minute, but we were happy to just watch from home with some iced tea! haha

I was going to fly to Kansas City but at the last minute (okay last hour) cancelled everything due to forecast of bad weather, got in a car and drove 12 hours to Idaho. The reward was a picture perfect clear blue sky by a lake with friends that I knew and an experience to remember instead of a frustrating chase probably in awful traffic looking for cloud-free skies which, judging from most of the KC photos was what happened there almost everywhere.

Even more miraculous was the day before and after there was high cirrus that would have diminished our experience in Idaho - but the day of, perfect. It was meant to be.

I liked congratulations

I liked congratulations