You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Changing Face of the Ocean Part 2: No More Fish

in #ecology6 years ago

Can anyone here spell "standing reserve"? For all that I dislike Heidegger as a person, his ideas about civilization, technology, and their interaction with nature are still pretty spot on.

Sort:  

I prefer Campbell's formulation. Once man began shifting perception of his environment from "I-Thou" relationship to "I-It" relationship, man began to exploit nature as a resource. Man's inhumanity towards his fellow man can also be attributed to "I-It" formulation aganst those with whom man disagrees. Man has a spiritual disease, from which all of creation suffers.

Joseph Campbell? Yeah, I like that formulation a lot.

The disease is a particularly infectious one, too. I've been reading a lot about our society's interactions with Amazon tribesmen and other indigenous people lately, and it's a particularly depressing one.